Calgary - Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine
University of CalgaryCalgary, AlbertaCompetitive stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
- 8 positions
- 1 year
- Competitive
- Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine
- 51–200
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 34648
Summary
- This 1-year CCFP-EM program is based at Foothills Medical Centre, with training at all four Calgary hospitals and regional hospitals in Southern Alberta.
- The year includes 8 emergency medicine blocks, including pediatric, Banff and regional selective blocks, plus ICU, CCU, anesthesia, toxicology, ophthalmology and an elective.
- Residents complete an academic or research project and share academic teaching with the FRCPC program.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Regional community
- Rural / remote
- Sites
11 teaching sites
- Foothills Medical Centre
- Peter Lougheed Centre
- Rockyview Hospital
Show all 11Show fewer
- South Health Campus
- Alberta Children’s Hospital
- Poison and Drug Information Service (PADIS)
- Mineral Springs Hospital
- Chinook Regional Hospital
- Medicine Hat Regional Hospital
- Red Deer Regional Hospital Centre
- Stanton Territorial Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Required rural rotation (4 weeks)
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project
- Highlights
- Required Banff block during ski season focused on emergency orthopedic injury management.
- Half of EM shifts at Foothills trauma centre, with longitudinal trauma team leading exposure.
- Toxicology training with the provincial PADIS poison service located at Foothills Medical Centre.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Emergency Medicine (8 blocks)
- ICU (1 block)
- CCU (1 block)
- Anesthesia (1 block)
- Toxicology (0.5 block)
- Ophthalomolgy (1 week)
- Elective (1 block)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- 3 Nov 2026
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $80,058 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks/yr
- Call Stipends
- weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
- CMPA dues paid
- $1,500
- Dental plan
- 75% premium paid
- Educational leave
- 14 days paid leave
- Extended health insurance
- 75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
- Frequency of calls
- In-house call: 7/28. 2/4 weekend call.Home call: 9/28. 2/4 weekend call**A Resident scheduled on Home call but who is required to work more than four hours in hospital during the call period, of which more than one full hour is past 12:00 a.m. and before 6:00 a.m., or more than six (6) hours in hospital during the call period, shall be remunerated at the rate for In-House call.$100 per day for each scheduled weekend day of patient rounds when not on-call
- Life insurance
- 100% towards $150,000 coverage
- Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
- 100% paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- 100% paid for 75% gross income
- Maternity Leave
- 18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
- Parental Leave
- 2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
- Practice Stipend
- $1,500
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- .95%
- Sick leave
- Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
- Statutory holidays
- Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Foothills Medical Centre (Calgary)
- Peter Lougheed Centre (Calgary)
- Rockyview Hospital (Calgary)
- South Health Campus (Calgary)
- Alberta Children’s Hospital (Calgary)
- Poison and Drug Information Service (PADIS) (Calgary)
- Mineral Springs Hospital (Banff · rural or distributed site)
- Chinook Regional Hospital (Lethbridge · rural or distributed site)
- Medicine Hat Regional Hospital (Medicine Hat · rural or distributed site)
- Red Deer Regional Hospital Centre (Red Deer · rural or distributed site)
- Stanton Territorial Hospital (Yellowknife · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
trisurendra.malasani@albertahealthservices.ca
Tri Surendra Malasani · Residency Program Administrator
Program directors
Dr. Stephanie Brass
Dr. Amanda Schreiner
Program Director
Dr. Ronald Garnett
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
- http://www.calgaryem.com/(opens in a new tab)
- http://cumming.ucalgary.ca/ermedicine/(opens in a new tab)
Links the program published on CaRMS
Location
Calgary, Alberta
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −7.6 °C
- July average
- 16.9 °C
- Snowfall
- 138.7 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 21.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,306,784 people
- Official languages
- English only 90.8% · French only 0.1% · English and French 6.6% · neither 2.5%
- Immigrants
- 33.3% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 3.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 83.2% · public transit 8.8% · walking or cycling 5.1% · other 2.9%
- Median household income
- $98,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Calgary, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.106
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 4.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $59,153 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.3%