Calgary - Family Medicine - Palliative Care
University of CalgaryCalgary, AlbertaCompetitive stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
- 3 positions
- 1 year
- Competitive
- Family Medicine - Palliative Care
- 51–200
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 34580
Summary
- This 1-year enhanced skills program trains family physicians in palliative care.
- Training takes place at Calgary hospitals and hospices, including the Foothills Medical Centre intensive palliative care unit, plus a rural consultation team block.
- Residents complete a scholarly project with a dedicated block and 12 half days of protected time.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Rural / remote
- Urban community
- Sites
12 teaching sites
- Foothills Medical Centre
- Arthur J.E. Child Comprehensive Cancer Centre
- Sheldon M. Chumir Health Centre
Show all 12Show fewer
- Peter Lougheed Hospital
- Rockyview General Hospital
- South Health Campus
- Rosedale Hospice
- Agape Hospice
- Southwood Hospice
- Dulcina Hospice
- Chinook Hospice
- Skypointe Hospice
- Rural exposure
- Required rural rotation
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Training language
- English
- Highlights
- Emphasis on non-malignant palliative care, with about 43% of consultations for non-malignant disease.
- Resident-designed wellness retreat in the Rockies, funded by the program.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Hospital Consultation Team Junior (1 block)
- Intensive Palliative Care Unit Junior (2 blocks)
- Home Care (1 block)
- Outpatient Malignant Clinics (Medical Oncology, Radiation Oncology, Surgical Oncology, Gyne Oncology, Dyspnea Clinic, Lymphedema Clinic and Cancer Pain Clinic) (1 block)
- Scholarly Project (1 block)
- Calgary Zone Rural Consultation Team (Home Care Rural) (1 block)
- Outpatient Non-Malignant Clinics (End Stage Clinics- cardiology, nephrology, respirology, motor neuron disease clinic, and COPD community care visits) (1 block)
- Hospital Consultation Team Senior (1 block)
- Intensive Palliative Care Unit Senior (1 block)
- Home Care + Hospice (1 block)
- Electives (2 blocks)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- 13 Oct 2026
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $80,058 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks/yr
- Call Stipends
- weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
- CMPA dues paid
- $1,500
- Dental plan
- 75% premium paid
- Educational leave
- 14 days paid leave
- Extended health insurance
- 75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
- Frequency of calls
- In-house call: 7/28. 2/4 weekend call.Home call: 9/28. 2/4 weekend call**A Resident scheduled on Home call but who is required to work more than four hours in hospital during the call period, of which more than one full hour is past 12:00 a.m. and before 6:00 a.m., or more than six (6) hours in hospital during the call period, shall be remunerated at the rate for In-House call.$100 per day for each scheduled weekend day of patient rounds when not on-call
- Life insurance
- 100% towards $150,000 coverage
- Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
- 100% paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- 100% paid for 75% gross income
- Maternity Leave
- 18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
- Parental Leave
- 2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
- Practice Stipend
- $1,500
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- .95%
- Sick leave
- Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
- Statutory holidays
- Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Foothills Medical Centre (Calgary)
- Arthur J.E. Child Comprehensive Cancer Centre (Calgary)
- Sheldon M. Chumir Health Centre (Calgary)
- Peter Lougheed Hospital (Calgary)
- Rockyview General Hospital (Calgary)
- South Health Campus (Calgary)
- Rosedale Hospice (Calgary)
- Agape Hospice (Calgary)
- Southwood Hospice (Calgary)
- Dulcina Hospice (Calgary)
- Chinook Hospice (Calgary)
- Skypointe Hospice (Calgary)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program directors
Please contact first.
Dr. Meshach David
Program Director
Dr. Ronald Garnett
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
- Palliative Care Program Description(opens in a new tab)
- Why Enhanced Skills?(opens in a new tab)
- Family Medicine Operating Standards(opens in a new tab)
- Travel Alberta(opens in a new tab)
- Palliative Care Early and Systematic Program of Research(opens in a new tab)
- Advanced Care Planning Collaborative Research and Innovation Opportunities Program(opens in a new tab)
- Calgary Zone Palliative End of Life Care Program(opens in a new tab)
Links the program published on CaRMS
Location
Calgary, Alberta
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −7.6 °C
- July average
- 16.9 °C
- Snowfall
- 138.7 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 21.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,306,784 people
- Official languages
- English only 90.8% · French only 0.1% · English and French 6.6% · neither 2.5%
- Immigrants
- 33.3% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 3.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 83.2% · public transit 8.8% · walking or cycling 5.1% · other 2.9%
- Median household income
- $98,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Calgary, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.106
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 4.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $59,153 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.3%