Calgary - Family Medicine - Sport and Exercise Medicine
University of CalgaryCalgary, AlbertaCompetitive stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
- 1 position
- 1 year
- Competitive
- Family Medicine - Sport and Exercise Medicine
- 0–50
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 34582
Summary
- This one-year sport and exercise medicine program accepts PGY-2 family medicine residents and family physicians in practice for PGY-3 positions.
- Training centres on a 26-week Sport and Exercise Medicine rotation at the UC Sport Medicine Centre and Innovative Sport Medicine, with off-service rotations at Calgary hospitals.
- Residents must complete a research project and are expected to write the CASEM Diploma Exam.
Training
- Setting
- Urban community
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
7 teaching sites
- University of Calgary (UC) Sport Medicine Centre (SMC)
- Innovative Sports Medicine
- Foothills Medical Centre
Show all 7Show fewer
- Rockyview General Hospital
- South Health Campus
- Peter Lougheed Hospital
- Alberta Children's Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- POCUS curriculum
- Research
- Required · research project
- Training language
- English
- Highlights
- Work with Calgary Stampede Rodeo athletes and Cirque du Soleil performers.
- Required medical coverage of UC Dinos football, hockey, rugby and wrestling home events.
- $2500 provided for attending SEM-related conferences.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Cardiology and Cardiac Rehab (Mandatory Rotations · 2 weeks)
- Eating Disorders/Sleep Medicine/Weight Management (Mandatory Rotations · 2 weeks)
- Orthopedics – Sport Orthopedics (Mandatory Rotations · 4 weeks)
- Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (Mandatory Rotations · 2 weeks)
- Radiology (Mandatory Rotations · 4 weeks)
- Respiratory and Pulmonary Medicine (Mandatory Rotations · 2 weeks)
- Sport and Exercise Medicine (Mandatory Rotations · 26 weeks)
- Rheumatology (Mandatory Rotations · 2 weeks)
- Emergency Medicine (Elective Rotations (Resident selects 4) · 2 weeks)
- Orthopedic Surgery – Foot and ankle (Elective Rotations (Resident selects 4) · 2 weeks)
- Orthopedic Surgery – Shoulder (Elective Rotations (Resident selects 4) · 2 weeks)
- Orthopedic Surgery – Spine (Elective Rotations (Resident selects 4) · 2 weeks)
- Orthopedic Surgery – Upper Extremity (Elective Rotations (Resident selects 4) · 2 weeks)
- Pediatric Sport Medicine (Elective Rotations (Resident selects 4) · 2 weeks)
- Other as approved by the ES RPC (Elective Rotations (Resident selects 4))
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- 16 and 19 Nov 2026
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $80,058 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks/yr
- Call Stipends
- weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
- CMPA dues paid
- $1,500
- Dental plan
- 75% premium paid
- Educational leave
- 14 days paid leave
- Extended health insurance
- 75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
- Frequency of calls
- In-house call: 7/28. 2/4 weekend call.Home call: 9/28. 2/4 weekend call**A Resident scheduled on Home call but who is required to work more than four hours in hospital during the call period, of which more than one full hour is past 12:00 a.m. and before 6:00 a.m., or more than six (6) hours in hospital during the call period, shall be remunerated at the rate for In-House call.$100 per day for each scheduled weekend day of patient rounds when not on-call
- Life insurance
- 100% towards $150,000 coverage
- Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
- 100% paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- 100% paid for 75% gross income
- Maternity Leave
- 18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
- Parental Leave
- 2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
- Practice Stipend
- $1,500
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- .95%
- Sick leave
- Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
- Statutory holidays
- Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- University of Calgary (UC) Sport Medicine Centre (SMC) (Calgary)
- Innovative Sports Medicine (Calgary)
- Foothills Medical Centre (Calgary)
- Rockyview General Hospital (Calgary)
- South Health Campus (Calgary)
- Peter Lougheed Hospital (Calgary)
- Alberta Children's Hospital (Calgary)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Tannis Dorscht
Enhanced Skills Team Lead
Program directors
Dr. Ryan Shields
Program Director
Dr. Ronald Garnett
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
- Sport and Exercise Medicine Program Description(opens in a new tab)
- Why Enhanced Skills?(opens in a new tab)
- Travel Alberta(opens in a new tab)
Links the program published on CaRMS
Location
Calgary, Alberta
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −7.6 °C
- July average
- 16.9 °C
- Snowfall
- 138.7 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 21.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,306,784 people
- Official languages
- English only 90.8% · French only 0.1% · English and French 6.6% · neither 2.5%
- Immigrants
- 33.3% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 3.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 83.2% · public transit 8.8% · walking or cycling 5.1% · other 2.9%
- Median household income
- $98,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Calgary, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.106
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 4.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $59,153 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.3%