Calgary - Internal Medicine
University of CalgaryCalgary, AlbertaCMG stream
- 35 positions
- 3 years
- CMG
- Internal Medicine
- 401–600
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 35437
Summary
- This is a 3-year core Internal Medicine residency at the University of Calgary, with each year made up of thirteen 4-week blocks.
- Residents rotate through four Calgary acute care sites, with Foothills Medical Centre as the primary academic centre.
- Senior residents work night float shifts on the Medical Teaching Units, doing 12-hour call shifts instead of 26-hour shifts.
- The program teaches point-of-care ultrasound through a Procedural Certification Program.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
6 teaching sites
- Foothills Medical Centre (FMC)
- Peter Lougheed Centre
- Rockyview General Hospital
Show all 6Show fewer
- South Health Campus
- Arthur Child Comprehensive Cancer Centre
- Richmond road Diagnostic and Treatment Centre
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- POCUS curriculum
- Research
- Offered · research project · protected time
- Call
- In-house call · night float
- Highlights
- A dedicated nocturnist program supports the Medical Teaching Units.
- Simulation program accredited by the Royal College.
- Parallel Indigenous Admissions Pathway with its own review committee for First Nations, Métis and Inuit applicants.
By year
- PGY-1
- Medical Teaching Unit6 blocks
- Selectives4 blocks
- CCU1 block
- Nephrology1 block
- Geriatrics1 block
- PGY-2
- Medical Teaching Unit4 blocks
- Selectives4 blocks
- Elective2 blocks
- CCU1 block
- ICU1 block
- PGY-3
- Selectives8 blocks
- Medical Teaching Unit2 blocks
- CCU1 block
- ICU1 block
- Elective1 block
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 401–600
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 20, 21, 27 and 28 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $67,440 / year |
| PGY-2 | $74,153 / year |
| PGY-3 | $80,058 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks/yr
- Call Stipends
- weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
- CMPA dues paid
- $1,500
- Dental plan
- 75% premium paid
- Educational leave
- 14 days paid leave
- Extended health insurance
- 75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
- Frequency of calls
- In-house call: 7/28. 2/4 weekend call.Home call: 9/28. 2/4 weekend call**A Resident scheduled on Home call but who is required to work more than four hours in hospital during the call period, of which more than one full hour is past 12:00 a.m. and before 6:00 a.m., or more than six (6) hours in hospital during the call period, shall be remunerated at the rate for In-House call.$100 per day for each scheduled weekend day of patient rounds when not on-call
- Life insurance
- 100% towards $150,000 coverage
- Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
- 100% paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- 100% paid for 75% gross income
- Maternity Leave
- 18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
- Parental Leave
- 2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
- Practice Stipend
- $1,500
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- .95%
- Sick leave
- Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
- Statutory holidays
- Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Foothills Medical Centre (FMC) (Calgary)
- Peter Lougheed Centre (Calgary)
- Rockyview General Hospital (Calgary)
- South Health Campus (Calgary)
- Arthur Child Comprehensive Cancer Centre (Calgary)
- Richmond road Diagnostic and Treatment Centre (Calgary)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Maria Bacchus
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Discussed on Reddit
Public Reddit posts and comments where someone describes this program. Each one links to Reddit.
- GIM Consults vs MTU electives? (opens Reddit in a new tab)
Foothills MTU patient mix and hospitalist coverage of non-acute patients
- Which IM program is best ? (opens Reddit in a new tab)
Resident on McMaster IM senior responsibility and Calgary Foothills CTU case mix
Location
Calgary, Alberta
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −7.6 °C
- July average
- 16.9 °C
- Snowfall
- 138.7 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 21.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,306,784 people
- Official languages
- English only 90.8% · French only 0.1% · English and French 6.6% · neither 2.5%
- Immigrants
- 33.3% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 3.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 83.2% · public transit 8.8% · walking or cycling 5.1% · other 2.9%
- Median household income
- $98,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Calgary, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.106
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 4.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $59,153 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.3%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage