Calgary - Neurology
University of CalgaryCalgary, AlbertaCMG stream
- 5 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Neurology
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 36191
Summary
- The University of Calgary Adult Neurology program is a five-year residency.
- Inpatient neurology training takes place at Foothills Medical Centre and South Health Campus, and residents may also rotate at Peter Lougheed Centre and Rockyview General Hospital.
- Scholarly activity is mandatory, and residents can do MSc or PhD training through a Clinician Investigator Program.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
5 teaching sites
- Foothills Medical Centre
- South Health Campus
- Peter Lougheed Centre
Show all 5Show fewer
- Rockyview General Hospital
- Alberta Children's Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Call
- In-house call · night float
- Highlights
- Hotchkiss Brain Institute pays a salary, pegged to PGY level, to residents doing an MSc or PhD.
- Structured 'junior consultant' curriculum preparing senior residents for independent inpatient, consult, triage and phone-call management.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- ward- and clinic-based neurology (Transition to Neurology · 2 blocks)
- Night Float rotation (Transition to Neurology)
- Stroke Unit (Transition to Neurology)
- internal medicine (Foundations of Neurology)
- psychiatry (Foundations of Neurology)
- neurosurgery (Foundations of Neurology)
- neuroradiology (Foundations of Neurology)
- emergency medicine (Foundations of Neurology)
- general medicine ward service (Foundations of Neurology)
- ICU/CCU (Foundations of Neurology)
- rheumatology (Foundations of Neurology)
- infectious diseases (Foundations of Neurology)
- palliative care medicine (Foundations of Neurology)
- community neurology (Foundations of Neurology · A block)
- inpatient general neurology (Core of Neurology · Foothills Medical Centre and the South Health Campus)
- stroke rotations (Core of Neurology)
- neuromuscular/EMG (Core of Neurology)
- epilepsy/EEG (Core of Neurology)
- movement disorders (Core of Neurology)
- headache (Core of Neurology)
- cognitive neurology (Core of Neurology)
- neuro-ophthalmology (Core of Neurology)
- pediatric neurology (Core of Neurology)
- longitudinal neurology clinic (Core of Neurology)
- senior resident's longitudinal clinics (Transition to Practice)
- elective rotations (Transition to Practice)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 5 and 6 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $67,440 / year |
| PGY-2 | $74,153 / year |
| PGY-3 | $80,058 / year |
| PGY-4 | $86,281 / year |
| PGY-5 | $92,698 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks/yr
- Call Stipends
- weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
- CMPA dues paid
- $1,500
- Dental plan
- 75% premium paid
- Educational leave
- 14 days paid leave
- Extended health insurance
- 75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
- Frequency of calls
- In-house call: 7/28. 2/4 weekend call.Home call: 9/28. 2/4 weekend call**A Resident scheduled on Home call but who is required to work more than four hours in hospital during the call period, of which more than one full hour is past 12:00 a.m. and before 6:00 a.m., or more than six (6) hours in hospital during the call period, shall be remunerated at the rate for In-House call.$100 per day for each scheduled weekend day of patient rounds when not on-call
- Life insurance
- 100% towards $150,000 coverage
- Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
- 100% paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- 100% paid for 75% gross income
- Maternity Leave
- 18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
- Parental Leave
- 2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
- Practice Stipend
- $1,500
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- .95%
- Sick leave
- Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
- Statutory holidays
- Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Foothills Medical Centre (Calgary)
- South Health Campus (Calgary)
- Peter Lougheed Centre (Calgary)
- Rockyview General Hospital (Calgary)
- Alberta Children's Hospital (Calgary)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program directors
Dr. Vikram Karnik
Program Director
Dr. Megan Yaraskavitch
Assist Program Director
Dr. Maggie Moores
Interim Assist Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Calgary, Alberta
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −7.6 °C
- July average
- 16.9 °C
- Snowfall
- 138.7 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 21.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,306,784 people
- Official languages
- English only 90.8% · French only 0.1% · English and French 6.6% · neither 2.5%
- Immigrants
- 33.3% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 3.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 83.2% · public transit 8.8% · walking or cycling 5.1% · other 2.9%
- Median household income
- $98,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Calgary, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.106
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 4.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $59,153 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.3%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage