Calgary - Pediatrics
University of CalgaryCalgary, AlbertaIMG stream
- 3 positions
- 4 years
- IMG
- Pediatrics
- 201–400
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 35274
Summary
- This is a 4-year pediatrics residency based at the Alberta Children's Hospital in Calgary, with affiliated Calgary hospitals.
- All residents complete at least one regional rotation in centres such as Lethbridge, Red Deer or Medicine Hat, with accommodation provided.
- A scholarly project is mandatory, supported by a first-year research block, and residents attend a longitudinal community clinic from PGY2.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Regional community
- Sites
9 teaching sites
- Alberta Children's Hospital
- Foothills Medical Centre (FMC)
- Peter Lougheed Centre (PLC)
Show all 9Show fewer
- Rockyview General Hospital (RGH)
- South Health Campus (SHC)
- Child Development Centre (CDC)
- Lethbridge
- Red Deer
- Medicine Hat
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Indigenous health
- Small program
- Procedural emphasis
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Highlights
- Longitudinal clinic pairing each resident with a community pediatrician from PGY2 through the end of training.
- Monthly simulation-based academic half days through the KidSIM program.
- Mandatory small-urban-centre community pediatrics rotation with accommodation provided at no cost.
By year
- PGY-1
- Clinical Teaching Unit (CTU) - Junior Teams3
- Neonatology Intensive Care Unit (NICU) Level II1
- Research Methods Course1
- Community Pediatrics2
- Pediatric Surgery1
- Pediatric Respiratory Medicine1
- Pediatric Gastroenterology1
- Pediatric Infectious Diseases1
- Pediatric Emergency Medicine1
- Normal Newborns at PLC0.5
- PGY-2
- Longitudinal Clinic1 day every other block on average
- Clinical Teaching Unit (CTU) Foundation 41
- Developmental Pediatrics1
- Pediatric Intensive Care Unit (PICU)2
- Neonatology Intensive Care Unit (NICU) Level III1
- Pediatric Cardiology1
- Pediatric Oncology/Hematology or Pediatric Oncology1
- Pediatric Endocrinology1
- Pediatric Nephrology1
- Pediatric Neurology1
- Elective2
- Research0.5
- PGY-3
- Longitudinal Clinic1 day every other block on average
- Clinical Teaching Unit (CTU) - Core 1 and 22
- Pediatric Intensive Care Unit (PICU)1
- Neonatology Intensive Care Unit (NICU) Level III1
- Pediatric Emergency Medicine1
- Research (could be replaced by Elective if research complete)0.5
- Rheumatology1
- Neonatology Intensive Care Unit (NICU) Level II at RGH or PLC or SHC1
- Adolescent Medicine1
- Social Pediatrics1
- Elective1.5
- Teaching Senior (paired with vacation)0.5
- Selective1
- PGY-4
- Longitudinal Clinic1 day every other block on average
- Community Pediatrics (mandatory small urban center location)1
- Junior Consultant (PLC or other small urban center)1
- Clinical Teaching Unit (CTU) TTP 1 and 22
- PEM1
- NICU1
- Teaching Senior (paired with vacation)0.5
- Selective TTP: ASAP (Anesthesia/STEP/PICU*), Complex Care, Palliative1
- Elective3
- Ambulatory2
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- IMG requirements
- Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
- Applications per year
- 201–400
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 22 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $67,440 / year |
| PGY-2 | $74,153 / year |
| PGY-3 | $80,058 / year |
| PGY-4 | $86,281 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks/yr
- Call Stipends
- weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
- CMPA dues paid
- $1,500
- Dental plan
- 75% premium paid
- Educational leave
- 14 days paid leave
- Extended health insurance
- 75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
- Frequency of calls
- In-house call: 7/28. 2/4 weekend call.Home call: 9/28. 2/4 weekend call**A Resident scheduled on Home call but who is required to work more than four hours in hospital during the call period, of which more than one full hour is past 12:00 a.m. and before 6:00 a.m., or more than six (6) hours in hospital during the call period, shall be remunerated at the rate for In-House call.$100 per day for each scheduled weekend day of patient rounds when not on-call
- Life insurance
- 100% towards $150,000 coverage
- Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
- 100% paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- 100% paid for 75% gross income
- Maternity Leave
- 18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
- Parental Leave
- 2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
- Practice Stipend
- $1,500
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- .95%
- Sick leave
- Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
- Statutory holidays
- Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Alberta Children's Hospital (Calgary)
- Foothills Medical Centre (FMC) (Calgary)
- Peter Lougheed Centre (PLC) (Calgary)
- Rockyview General Hospital (RGH) (Calgary)
- South Health Campus (SHC) (Calgary)
- Child Development Centre (CDC) (Calgary)
- Lethbridge (Lethbridge · rural or distributed site)
- Red Deer (Red Deer · rural or distributed site)
- Medicine Hat (Medicine Hat · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Irenke Payne
Program Administrator
Program director
Dr. Amelie Stritzke
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Calgary, Alberta
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −7.6 °C
- July average
- 16.9 °C
- Snowfall
- 138.7 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 21.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,306,784 people
- Official languages
- English only 90.8% · French only 0.1% · English and French 6.6% · neither 2.5%
- Immigrants
- 33.3% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 3.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 83.2% · public transit 8.8% · walking or cycling 5.1% · other 2.9%
- Median household income
- $98,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Calgary, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.106
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 4.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $59,153 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.3%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage