Calgary - Plastic Surgery
University of CalgaryCalgary, AlbertaCMG stream
- 3 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Plastic Surgery
- 51–200
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 36289
Summary
- The University of Calgary Plastic Surgery program is a 5-year residency that admits three residents per year.
- Training takes place at several Calgary sites, including Foothills Medical Centre, Alberta Children's Hospital, and community and private-practice settings.
- Residents must complete an annual research project and have weekly protected research time.
- Call is generally 1-in-4, nominally home call, but residents often stay in hospital.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
8 teaching sites
- Foothills Medical Centre (FMC)
- Calgary Firefighters Burn Treatment Centre
- Arthur J.E. Child Comprehensive Cancer Centre / Tom Baker Cancer Centre
Show all 8Show fewer
- Alberta Children’s Hospital (ACH)
- Rockyview General Hospital (RGH)
- Peter Lougheed Centre (PLC)
- South Health Campus (SHC)
- Private Offices and Accredited Surgical Facilities
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Small program
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Call
- In-house and home call · frequency “one-in-four (1:4)”
- Highlights
- PGY-5 residents run the senior resident cosmetic clinic independently.
- Residents get exposure to less common areas such as gender surgery and wrist/distal radius surgery.
- Residents run a medical student primer covering all plastic surgery subspecialties.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- orthopaedic surgery (PGY-1 and 2 - Surgical Foundations)
- trauma (PGY-1 and 2 - Surgical Foundations)
- ICU (PGY-1 and 2 - Surgical Foundations)
- plastic surgery (PGY-1 and 2 - Surgical Foundations)
- breast melanoma (PGY-1 and 2 - Surgical Foundations)
- vascular surgery (PGY-1 and 2 - Surgical Foundations)
- Oral Maxillofacial Surgery (PGY-1 and 2 - Surgical Foundations)
- ENT (PGY-1 and 2 - Surgical Foundations)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 26 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Info sessions
Thu 5 Nov 20265:30–6:30 pm MST
Info session
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $67,440 / year |
| PGY-2 | $74,153 / year |
| PGY-3 | $80,058 / year |
| PGY-4 | $86,281 / year |
| PGY-5 | $92,698 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks/yr
- Call Stipends
- weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
- CMPA dues paid
- $1,500
- Dental plan
- 75% premium paid
- Educational leave
- 14 days paid leave
- Extended health insurance
- 75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
- Frequency of calls
- In-house call: 7/28. 2/4 weekend call.Home call: 9/28. 2/4 weekend call**A Resident scheduled on Home call but who is required to work more than four hours in hospital during the call period, of which more than one full hour is past 12:00 a.m. and before 6:00 a.m., or more than six (6) hours in hospital during the call period, shall be remunerated at the rate for In-House call.$100 per day for each scheduled weekend day of patient rounds when not on-call
- Life insurance
- 100% towards $150,000 coverage
- Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
- 100% paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- 100% paid for 75% gross income
- Maternity Leave
- 18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
- Parental Leave
- 2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
- Practice Stipend
- $1,500
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- .95%
- Sick leave
- Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
- Statutory holidays
- Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Foothills Medical Centre (FMC) (Calgary)
- Calgary Firefighters Burn Treatment Centre (Calgary)
- Arthur J.E. Child Comprehensive Cancer Centre / Tom Baker Cancer Centre (Calgary)
- Alberta Children’s Hospital (ACH) (Calgary)
- Rockyview General Hospital (RGH) (Calgary)
- Peter Lougheed Centre (PLC) (Calgary)
- South Health Campus (SHC) (Calgary)
- Private Offices and Accredited Surgical Facilities (Calgary)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program directors
Dr. Brett Byers
Associate Program Director
Dr. Aaron Knox
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Calgary, Alberta
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −7.6 °C
- July average
- 16.9 °C
- Snowfall
- 138.7 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 21.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,306,784 people
- Official languages
- English only 90.8% · French only 0.1% · English and French 6.6% · neither 2.5%
- Immigrants
- 33.3% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 3.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 83.2% · public transit 8.8% · walking or cycling 5.1% · other 2.9%
- Median household income
- $98,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Calgary, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.106
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 4.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $59,153 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.3%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Very good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage