Calgary - Public Health and Preventive Medicine including Family Medicine
University of CalgaryCalgary, AlbertaCMG stream
- 2 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Public Health and Preventive Medicine including Family Medicine
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 35262
Summary
- This is a 5-year University of Calgary PHPM program with two CMG positions, both including the opportunity for joint certification in Family Medicine.
- PGY1–PGY3 combine Family Medicine clinical training with one year of academic coursework in core public health sciences.
- PGY4–PGY5 include 18 months of required urban and rural public health field rotations, with funded accommodation during mandatory rural or remote rotations.
Training
- Setting
- Mixed settings
- Public health agency
- Rural / remote
- Sites
7 teaching sites
- University of Calgary Family Medicine Program
- University of Calgary Department of Community Health Sciences
- Ministry of Primary and Preventive Health Services
Show all 7Show fewer
- Primary Care Alberta and other Provincial Health Agencies
- Health Canada First Nations and Inuit Health Branch
- Public Health Laboratory
- Northwest Territories Health and Social Services
- Rural exposure
- Required rural rotation
- Focus areas
- Underserved urban
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Highlights
- Training sites include Northwest Territories Health and Social Services and Health Canada's First Nations and Inuit Health Branch.
- Accommodation is fully funded during mandatory rural or remote rotations.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Communicable disease control (Core and Transition to Practice (PGY4–PGY5))
- Environmental health (Core and Transition to Practice (PGY4–PGY5))
- Health promotion and chronic disease prevention (Core and Transition to Practice (PGY4–PGY5))
- Cancer screening and prevention (Core and Transition to Practice (PGY4–PGY5))
- Rural public health (Core and Transition to Practice (PGY4–PGY5))
- Senior MOH rotations (final year of training)
- Elective rotations (final year of training · At least six months)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 19 and 28 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $67,440 / year |
| PGY-2 | $74,153 / year |
| PGY-3 | $80,058 / year |
| PGY-4 | $86,281 / year |
| PGY-5 | $92,698 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks/yr
- Call Stipends
- weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
- CMPA dues paid
- $1,500
- Dental plan
- 75% premium paid
- Educational leave
- 14 days paid leave
- Extended health insurance
- 75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
- Frequency of calls
- In-house call: 7/28. 2/4 weekend call.Home call: 9/28. 2/4 weekend call**A Resident scheduled on Home call but who is required to work more than four hours in hospital during the call period, of which more than one full hour is past 12:00 a.m. and before 6:00 a.m., or more than six (6) hours in hospital during the call period, shall be remunerated at the rate for In-House call.$100 per day for each scheduled weekend day of patient rounds when not on-call
- Life insurance
- 100% towards $150,000 coverage
- Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
- 100% paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- 100% paid for 75% gross income
- Maternity Leave
- 18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
- Parental Leave
- 2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
- Practice Stipend
- $1,500
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- .95%
- Sick leave
- Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
- Statutory holidays
- Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- University of Calgary Family Medicine Program (Calgary)
- University of Calgary Department of Community Health Sciences (Calgary)
- Ministry of Primary and Preventive Health Services
- Primary Care Alberta and other Provincial Health Agencies
- Health Canada First Nations and Inuit Health Branch
- Public Health Laboratory
- Northwest Territories Health and Social Services (rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 2 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 1 of 9 years.
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 1 position open after round 2 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 |
| 2026 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. David Klassen
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
Location
Calgary, Alberta
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −7.6 °C
- July average
- 16.9 °C
- Snowfall
- 138.7 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 21.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,306,784 people
- Official languages
- English only 90.8% · French only 0.1% · English and French 6.6% · neither 2.5%
- Immigrants
- 33.3% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 3.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 83.2% · public transit 8.8% · walking or cycling 5.1% · other 2.9%
- Median household income
- $98,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Calgary, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.106
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 4.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $59,153 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.3%