Skip to content
CdnMD

Chatham-Kent - Family Medicine

Western UniversityChatham-Kent, OntarioCMG stream

CaRMS program description, 2026 match, last approved 19 Sep 2025

From the 2026 match (R-1 2026). See the 2027 version

Positions (approx. quota)
2 positions
Length
2 years
Stream
CMG
Discipline
Family Medicine
Applications per year
601+
Applicants offered interviews
76–100%
Accreditation
Accredited
CaRMS program ID
29886

Bands are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS. They describe past cycles, not your odds.

Summary

The Chatham-Kent Family Medicine residency program is designed by community Family Physicians to train comprehensive Family Medicine practitioners. The program offers a unique hybrid curriculum combining rotation-based training in PGY1 and a horizontal curriculum in PGY2, allowing residents to experience comprehensive patient care while tailoring their education to their interests and needs.

Training

Research
Not stated on CaRMS page
Training setting
A community-based training program located in Chatham-Kent, Ontario, focusing on comprehensive care in a 300-bed Community Hospital with diverse clinical settings including medicine, rehabilitation, obstetrics, and emergency departments.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education with a focus on progressive independence, allowing residents to comprehensively care for their own practice while continuing to develop through enrichment experiences.
Setting types
  • Community hospital
  • Rural training site
Focus areas
  • Comprehensive Family Medicine
  • Community Hospital Medicine
  • GP Obstetrics
  • Emergency Department Care
  • Hospice Care
Patient populations
  • Medicine patients
  • Rehabilitation patients
  • Continuing Care patients
  • Obstetric patients
  • Emergency Department patients
  • Hospice patients
Highlights
  • Hybrid curriculum design
  • Comprehensive patient care experience
  • Longitudinal electives
  • Tailored educational opportunities
Strengths
  • Strong community-based training
  • Comprehensive clinical exposure
  • Flexible curriculum
  • Opportunity for personalized learning
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page

By year

PGY-1
  • Rotation-based curriculumChatham-KentFull year
PGY-2
  • Horizontal curriculumChatham-KentFull year
  • Longitudinal electivesChatham-KentVaries

From the program's rotation list.

Selection

What the program looks at
  • Medical Student Performance Record
  • Personal letter
  • Reference letters
  • Interview
  • Family Medicine Professional Choices Assessment (FMProC)
Applications per year
601+
Applicants offered interviews
76–100%

Interviews

Dates (2026 match)
21, 24 and 25 Jan 2026

Programs can change interview dates. Confirm on carms.ca.

Pay

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Contract expired, may change.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year

One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house

The union agreement’s cap for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. Check with the program.

PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed.

Teaching sites

  • Chatham-Kent Community Hospital

Hospital facts

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

Unfilled positions in past years

Open after round 1 in 4 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Chatham-Kent.

Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
201900
20202 positions open after round 1 in 2020, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
20212 positions open after round 1 in 2021, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202200
202300
20241 position open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
20251 position open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202600

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late. It says nothing about the quality of the training. Verify with the CaRMS lists. Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)). A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.

Contacts

Location

Chatham-Kent, Ontario

Loading amenities…

About the city

Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.

Climate

Canadian Climate Normals, 1991–2020. Each value comes from the nearest weather station that reports it, not from the city itself.

January average
−4.5 °C Ridgetown, 26.3 km away
July average
21.4 °C Ridgetown, 26.3 km away
Snowfall
90.5 cm a year New Glasgow, 47.0 km away
Days below −20 °C
4.0 days a year Ridgetown, 26.3 km away

People

2021 Census. Figures are for the municipality of Chatham-Kent, not the metropolitan area. Statistics Canada rounds counts, so small places are approximate.

Population
103,988 people up 2.3% from 2016
Official languages
English only 92.4% · French only 0.0% · English and French 6.9% · neither 0.6% Share of residents who can conduct a conversation in each. This is not the language spoken at home.
Immigrants
9.1% of residents arrived 2016–2021: 0.8% · non-permanent residents: 0.5%
Indigenous identity
4.2% of residents
How people commute
car, truck or van 93.0% · public transit 0.4% · walking or cycling 5.0% · other 1.5% Average commute: 19.3 minutes. Shares are of people who commute.The way Canadians commute was altered in 2021 by the pandemic, with lockdowns to slow the spread of COVID-19 and changes in how and where Canadians worked leading to 2.8 million fewer commuters, compared with five years earlier. Statistics Canada, The Daily, 30 Nov 2022(opens in a new tab)
Median household income
$72,000 before tax $65,000 after tax · income year 2020, in 2020 dollars

Rural and remote

This describes the place named by the program’s location label. Programs can train in several towns, so it is not every site.

Population centre
Chatham, a medium population centre (30,000 to 99,999 people) 45,171 people in 2021
Remoteness index
0.224 0 is least remote, 1 is most remote. Statistics Canada calls this index experimental.
Student loan forgiveness
Family medicine here may qualify for up to $60,000 of Canada Student Loan forgiveness. Eligibility depends on the postal code of where you work: check the official postal-code lookup. Postal-code lookup(opens in a new tab)Time-limited: this place meets only the previous community definition, which stays in place “until November 1, 2027 or the day that is 6 months after the day on which a census is published by Statistics Canada, whichever is later”.

Housing, cost and work

Each figure names the area it covers. A missing line means the source publishes nothing for this area.

Rental vacancy rate
4.4% October 2025 survey, Chatham-Kent, Ontario (census agglomeration). The share of purpose-built rentals (three units and over) vacant, not a rent.
Basic cost of living
$54,744 a year Market Basket Measure 2025, Ontario, population 100,000 to 499,999, for two adults with two children. A modest, basic basket (the poverty line), not a resident’s budget. A size-class region is not the town itself.

Job outlook

Employment and Social Development Canada’s rating for the occupation in the economic region. It is not a count of jobs, and says nothing about CaRMS positions or your match.

Outlook, 2025–2027
Very good The employment outlook will be Very good for general practitioners and family physicians (NOC 31102) in the Windsor - Sarnia region for the 2025-2027 period.
Canada-wide, to 2033
Strong risk of Shortage ESDC’s projection for general practitioners and family physicians, 2024–2033. Recent conditions, 2021–2023: Strong signs of Shortage.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada. Adapted from Statistics Canada, 2021 Census Cartographic Boundary Files.
  • Adapted from Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation, Rental Market Survey, October 2025 (vacancy rates), and Statistics Canada, Table 34-10-0131-01. This does not constitute an endorsement by Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation or Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, Canadian Occupational Projection System (COPS), 2024 to 2033 projections).
  • Data Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (Canadian Climate Normals 1991-2020).
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, 3-Year Employment Outlooks).
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Index of Remoteness (17-26-0001), 2021. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Source: Employment and Social Development Canada, Canada Student Loan Forgiveness (Canada.ca), page dated 2026-06-03.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 11-10-0066-01 Market Basket Measure (MBM) thresholds for the reference family by Market Basket Measure region, component and base year, 2025. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0011-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and population centres, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0002-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and census subdivisions (municipalities), 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0057-01 Household income statistics by household type: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0173-01 Mother tongue by knowledge of official languages: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0266-01 Indigenous identity by Registered or Treaty Indian status: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0307-01 Immigrant status and period of immigration by place of birth: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0458-01 Main mode of commuting by commuting duration, time leaving for work, age and gender: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 5 Oct 2026.