de Maria - Family Medicine
Université de Montréalde Maria, QuebecRegular stream
- 6 positions
- 2 years
- Regular
- Family Medicine
- 401–600
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 35360
Summary
- This is a two-year Université de Montréal family medicine program based at the CUMF de Maria, with 26 training periods.
- Training includes 12 weeks of emergency medicine, a pediatric emergency rotation at Ste-Justine and 12 weeks of electives.
- A two-year scholarly project in research, knowledge transfer or quality improvement is mandatory.
Training
- Setting
- Rural / remote
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
9 teaching sites
- CUMF de Maria
- Ste-Justine
- CISSS Abitibi-Témiscamingue (Amos, La Sarre, Val D’Or)
Show all 9Show fewer
- CRSSS de la Baie-James (Matagami)
- CISSS des Laurentides ( Mont-Laurier, Rivière-Rouge)
- CISSS de la Gaspésie (Maria, Paspébiac)
- CISSS de la Côte-Nord (Port-Cartier, Sept-Îles)
- CIUSSS Mauricie-Centre-du-Québec (La Tuque, Shawinigan)
- CIUSSS du Saguenay-Lac-St-Jean (Dolbeau, Roberval)
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Based in a rural community
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project
- Training language
- French
- Enhanced skills
- Emergency Medicine
- Care of the Elderly
- Palliative Care
- Clinician Scholar / Research
- Medical Education
- Addiction Medicine
- Sport and Exercise Medicine
- Maternity and Newborn Care
- Highlights
- Longitudinal follow-up of six pregnant women, including attending the delivery and following the children.
By year
- PGY-2
- Stage en médecine en région8 semaines
Other rotations
- médecine de famille (1ère année · 8 périodes)
- médecine de famille (2 e année · 7 périodes)
- Urgence (12 semaines)
- unité d'hospitalisation de médecine familiale (6 à 8 semaines)
- cardiologie et unité coronarienne (4 semaines)
- obstétrique-périnatalité (4 semaines)
- Soins aux aînés en établissement, clinique externe et à domicile (Activités sur les 2 années)
- Soins palliatifs en établissement, clinique externe et à domicile (4 semaines et activités sur les 2 années)
- Urgence à Ste-Justine (4 semaines · Ste-Justine)
- Hospitalisation et ambulatoire (4 semaines)
- Ambulatoire (activités sur les 2 années)
- Option (12 semaines)
- Stage de nuit/gardes de nuit
Selection
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- IMG requirements
- Recent clinical experience (within 4 years)
- Observerships don’t count as clinical experience
- “l’entrevue de ces candidats comportera aussi 3 cas cliniques de type ECOS.”
- Applications per year
- 401–600
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 19, 20, 21, 22 and 26 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- CUMF de Maria (Maria)
- Ste-Justine
- CISSS Abitibi-Témiscamingue (Amos, La Sarre, Val D’Or) (rural or distributed site)
- CRSSS de la Baie-James (Matagami) (Matagami · rural or distributed site)
- CISSS des Laurentides ( Mont-Laurier, Rivière-Rouge) (rural or distributed site)
- CISSS de la Gaspésie (Maria, Paspébiac) (rural or distributed site)
- CISSS de la Côte-Nord (Port-Cartier, Sept-Îles) (rural or distributed site)
- CIUSSS Mauricie-Centre-du-Québec (La Tuque, Shawinigan) (rural or distributed site)
- CIUSSS du Saguenay-Lac-St-Jean (Dolbeau, Roberval) (rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Ste-Justine
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,172 · 2026–2027: 27,007
- Licensed beds
- physical health 333 · psychiatry 19 · neonatology 66
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 4 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 3 of 9 years.
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2023 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 1 position open after round 2 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
| 2024 | 4 positions open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 4 positions open after round 2 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 |
| 2026 | 3 positions open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 4 positions open after round 2 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program directors
Dr(e) Dominique Roy
Directrice du programme
Dre Marie Blanchet
Directrice locale du programme
CaRMS lists no email for the directors.
Site staffdirectors and coordinators at the teaching sites
Johanne Leblanc
Personne contact de l'UMF
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
de Maria, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −11.7 °C
- July average
- 18.4 °C
- Snowfall
- 337.1 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 22.7 days a year
People
- Population
- 2,760 people
- Official languages
- English only 0.8% · French only 64.4% · English and French 34.5% · neither not reported
- Immigrants
- 1.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 91.8% · public transit 1.0% · walking or cycling 5.7% · other 1.0%
- Median household income
- $73,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Maria, a small population centre (1,000 to 29,999 people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.449
- Student loan forgiveness
- Family medicine here may qualify for up to $60,000 of Canada Student Loan forgiveness. Eligibility depends on the postal code of where you work: check the official postal-code lookup. Postal-code lookup(opens in a new tab)
Housing, cost and work
- Basic cost of living
- $47,106 a year
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Moderate
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage