Drummond - Family Medicine
Université de SherbrookeDrummond, QuebecRegular stream
- 10 positions
- 2 years
- Regular
- Family Medicine
- 201–400
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 36206
Summary
- This two-year Université de Sherbrooke family medicine program trains residents mainly at the GMF-U and Hôpital Sainte-Croix in Drummondville.
- The curriculum is integrated and longitudinal, with each resident following an assigned panel of 150 patients for both years.
- Second year includes a two-period external unit rotation at another site.
Training
- Setting
- Regional community
- Sites
2 teaching sites
- GMF-U de Drummondville
- Hôpital Sainte-Croix
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Longitudinal / integrated
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project
- Training language
- French
- Enhanced skills
- Care of the Elderly
- Palliative Care
- Clinician Scholar / Research
- Emergency Medicine
- Sport and Exercise Medicine
- Maternity and Newborn Care
- Highlights
- Residents begin with an assigned panel of 150 patients followed throughout both years of residency.
- Almost all first-year training is longitudinal, with mental health, inpatient, emergency and perinatal care integrated.
By year
- PGY-1
- UNITÉ DE MÉDECINE DE FAMILLE* RI11 périodes**
- OPTION2 périodes
- PGY-2
- UNITÉ DE MÉDECINE DE FAMILLE RII9 périodes
- 3 E SÉLECTIF1 période
- OPTION1 période
- UNITÉ EXTÉRIEURE2périodes
Selection
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- IMG requirements
- Recent clinical experience (within 4 years)
- Observerships don’t count as clinical experience
- “Pour les DIM, le.la candidat.e doit fournir une preuve d'inscription au tableau de l'Ordre ainsi qu'une preuve de travail signé par une autorité compétente”
- Applications per year
- 201–400
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 19, 20, 21, 22 and 26 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- GMF-U de Drummondville (Drummondville)
- Hôpital Sainte-Croix (Drummondville)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Hôpital Sainte-Croix
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 17,461 · 2026–2027: no row in the file
- Licensed beds
- physical health 154 · psychiatry 25 · geriatrics 18 · neonatology 4
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 5 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 4 of 9 years.
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 |
| 2021 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2021, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2022 | 3 positions open after round 1 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 1 position open after round 2 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
| 2023 | 6 positions open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 6 positions open after round 2 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 |
| 2025 | 8 positions open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 6 positions open after round 2 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
| 2026 | 4 positions open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 3 positions open after round 2 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Questions concernant le programme de médecine de famille de l'Université de Sherbrooke
Program director
Dr(e) Joanie Rinfret
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Site staffdirectors and coordinators at the teaching sites
GMF-U de Drummondville
Dre Kim Sévigny
Directrice du GMF-U de Drummondville
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Drummond, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.7 °C
- July average
- 21.1 °C
- Snowfall
- 228.8 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 18.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 79,258 people
- Official languages
- English only 0.3% · French only 67.9% · English and French 31.3% · neither 0.4%
- Immigrants
- 4.4% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 1.7% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 92.1% · public transit 1.5% · walking or cycling 5.2% · other 1.3%
- Median household income
- $61,200 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Drummondville, a medium population centre (30,000 to 99,999 people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.129
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- not published
- Basic cost of living
- $47,414 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 4.8%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage