Skip to content
CdnMD

Eastern-Burin - Family Medicine

Memorial University of NewfoundlandEastern-Burin, Newfoundland and LabradorCMG streamNew for 2027

CaRMS program description, 2027 match, last approved 17 Sep 2026

2027 match programs, from CaRMS as of 5 Oct 2026. Programs can still change until file review opens 26 November; we re-check every two weeks. Always confirm on CaRMS (opens in a new tab).

Positions (approx. quota)
1 position
Length
2 years
Stream
CMG
Discipline
Family Medicine
Applications per year
201–400
Applicants offered interviews
76–100%
Accreditation
Accredited
CaRMS program ID
37183

Bands are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS. They describe past cycles, not your odds.

Summary

  • This two-year Memorial University family medicine stream trains residents mainly in a rural community on Newfoundland's Burin Peninsula.
  • First-year clinical experiences are primarily based in St. John's, with selected rural rotations.
  • The second year is a longitudinal rural family medicine experience at Burin Family Practice, and all residents complete a mandatory QI scholarly project.

Training

Setting
  • Rural / remote
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Sites

1 teaching site

  • Burin Family Practice

Distributed across a region

Rural exposure
Based in a rural community
Focus areas
  • Rural / remote
  • Longitudinal / integrated
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
Enhanced skills
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Other
Getting around
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed
Highlights
  • Second year is a longitudinal rural placement at Burin Family Practice, including rural hospitalist medicine.
  • Broad rural scope includes chemotherapy assessments and wilderness medicine.

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Selection

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not required · CMGs only
Applications per year
201–400
Applicants offered interviews
76–100%

Interviews

Dates (2027 match)
20 and 21 Jan 2027
Mode
Virtual
Format
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Programs can change interview dates. Confirm on carms.ca.

Pay

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Contract expired, may change.

Annual salary by PGY level, Newfoundland and Labrador
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$69,175 / year
PGY-2
$74,779 / year

One provincial scale for Newfoundland and Labrador, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Benefits

Benefits as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024; check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Additional optional benefits
100% employee paid
Annual vacation
4 weeks/year
CMPA dues
100% reimbursement
Conference leave
7 days/pd
Extended health insurance
Mandatory medical, basic life and AD&Dhttp://www.exec.gov.nl.ca/exec/hrs/working_with_us/employee_benefits.html
Frequency of call
Excess in-hospital call > 7/28 weekday – $225, weekend – $360;Call stipend – $115 Home call > 7/21 – $75;Call stipend – $57.50
Maternity/Paternity leave
Up to One year
Meal allowance
$105 per month
Parking fees
$5/year
Provincial health insurance
Contact Medical Care Plan1-866-449-4459
Resident Student
Full-time status
Sick leave
1 day per month
Statutory holidays
1-1/2 x pay or paid day off

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 day in 4 in-house, on average

The union agreement’s cap for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. Check with the program.

PARNL agreement, 10 Aug 2022 to 30 Jun 2024. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed.

Teaching sites

  • Burin Family Practice (Burin · rural or distributed site)

Hospital facts

Hospital size and activity: Newfoundland and Labrador doesn't publish this as open data.

Contacts

Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.

Program officeadministrators and coordinators

familymed@mun.ca

Mason Power · Academic Program Assistant

Program director

  • Dr. Kerry-Lynn Williams

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Location

Eastern-Burin, Newfoundland and Labrador

Loading amenities…

About the city

Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.

Climate

Canadian Climate Normals, 1991–2020. Each value comes from the nearest weather station that reports it, not from the city itself.

January average
−3.4 °C St. Lawrence, 23.4 km away
July average
15.0 °C St. Lawrence, 23.4 km away
Snowfall
172.5 cm a year Harbour Breton, 66.5 km away (more than 50 km, so it may differ from the city)
Days below −20 °C
0.0 days a year St. Lawrence, 23.4 km away

People

2021 Census. Figures are for the municipality of Burin, not the metropolitan area. Statistics Canada rounds counts, so small places are approximate.

Population
2,237 people down 3.4% from 2016
Official languages
English only 97.5% · French only not reported · English and French 2.2% · neither not reported Share of residents who can conduct a conversation in each. This is not the language spoken at home.
Immigrants
1.3% of residents arrived 2016–2021: not reported · non-permanent residents: not reported
Indigenous identity
0.9% of residents
How people commute
car, truck or van 93.6% · public transit not reported · walking or cycling 1.7% · other 4.1% Average commute: 22.3 minutes. Shares are of people who commute.The way Canadians commute was altered in 2021 by the pandemic, with lockdowns to slow the spread of COVID-19 and changes in how and where Canadians worked leading to 2.8 million fewer commuters, compared with five years earlier. Statistics Canada, The Daily, 30 Nov 2022(opens in a new tab)
Median household income
$66,500 before tax $58,000 after tax · income year 2020, in 2020 dollars

Rural and remote

This describes the place named by the program’s location label. Programs can train in several towns, so it is not every site.

Population centre
Rural: outside every population centre
Remoteness index
0.521 0 is least remote, 1 is most remote. Statistics Canada calls this index experimental.
Student loan forgiveness
Family medicine here may qualify for up to $60,000 of Canada Student Loan forgiveness. Eligibility depends on the postal code of where you work: check the official postal-code lookup. Postal-code lookup(opens in a new tab)

Housing, cost and work

Each figure names the area it covers. A missing line means the source publishes nothing for this area.

Basic cost of living
$50,286 a year Market Basket Measure 2025, Newfoundland and Labrador, rural, for two adults with two children. A modest, basic basket (the poverty line), not a resident’s budget. A size-class region is not the town itself.

Job outlook

Employment and Social Development Canada’s rating for the occupation in the economic region. It is not a count of jobs, and says nothing about CaRMS positions or your match.

Outlook, 2025–2027
Very good The employment outlook will be Very good for general practitioners and family physicians (NOC 31102) in the South Coast - Burin Peninsula and Notre Dame - Central Bonavista Bay regions for the 2025-2027 period.
Canada-wide, to 2033
Strong risk of Shortage ESDC’s projection for general practitioners and family physicians, 2024–2033. Recent conditions, 2021–2023: Strong signs of Shortage.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada. Adapted from Statistics Canada, 2021 Census Cartographic Boundary Files.
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, Canadian Occupational Projection System (COPS), 2024 to 2033 projections).
  • Data Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (Canadian Climate Normals 1991-2020).
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, 3-Year Employment Outlooks).
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Index of Remoteness (17-26-0001), 2021. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Source: Employment and Social Development Canada, Canada Student Loan Forgiveness (Canada.ca), page dated 2026-06-03.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 11-10-0066-01 Market Basket Measure (MBM) thresholds for the reference family by Market Basket Measure region, component and base year, 2025. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0011-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and population centres, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0002-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and census subdivisions (municipalities), 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0057-01 Household income statistics by household type: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0173-01 Mother tongue by knowledge of official languages: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0266-01 Indigenous identity by Registered or Treaty Indian status: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0307-01 Immigrant status and period of immigration by place of birth: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0458-01 Main mode of commuting by commuting duration, time leaving for work, age and gender: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 6 Oct 2026.