Edmonton - Dermatology
University of AlbertaEdmonton, AlbertaCMG stream
- 3 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Dermatology
- 0–50
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 35519
Summary
- This is a 5-year dermatology residency at the University of Alberta in Edmonton.
- PGY 1-2 involve rotations through other specialties at Edmonton hospitals, while PGY 3-5 are dedicated entirely to dermatology and dermatopathology.
- Community rotations take place in private dermatology offices in the Edmonton area, and residents must take part in scholarly projects.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
7 teaching sites
- University of Alberta Hospital (University Dermatology Clinic (UDC) - Kaye Edmonton Clinic)
- Royal Alexandra Hospital
- Stollery Children's Health Centre
Show all 7Show fewer
- Cross Cancer Institute
- Grey Nuns Hospital
- Misericordia Community Hospital
- Various Edmonton-area dermatology clinics
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
- Highlights
- Longitudinal pediatric dermatology clinic attended throughout PGY 3-5.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- General Clinical Dermatology (PGY 3-5 · Kaye Edmonton Clinic Building)
- Pediatric Dermatology (PGY 3-5)
- Dermatopathology (PGY 3-5)
- Community Dermatology (PGY 3-5 · private dermatologists' offices throughout Edmonton and the greater Edmonton area)
- Elective Content of Training
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not required · all residents
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 30 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $67,440 / year |
| PGY-2 | $74,153 / year |
| PGY-3 | $80,058 / year |
| PGY-4 | $86,281 / year |
| PGY-5 | $92,698 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks/yr
- Call Stipends
- weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
- CMPA dues paid
- $1,500
- Dental plan
- 75% premium paid
- Educational leave
- 14 days paid leave
- Extended health insurance
- 75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
- Frequency of calls
- In-house call: 7/28. 2/4 weekend call.Home call: 9/28. 2/4 weekend call**A Resident scheduled on Home call but who is required to work more than four hours in hospital during the call period, of which more than one full hour is past 12:00 a.m. and before 6:00 a.m., or more than six (6) hours in hospital during the call period, shall be remunerated at the rate for In-House call.$100 per day for each scheduled weekend day of patient rounds when not on-call
- Life insurance
- 100% towards $150,000 coverage
- Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
- 100% paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- 100% paid for 75% gross income
- Maternity Leave
- 18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
- Parental Leave
- 2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
- Practice Stipend
- $1,500
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- .95%
- Sick leave
- Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
- Statutory holidays
- Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- University of Alberta Hospital (University Dermatology Clinic (UDC) - Kaye Edmonton Clinic) (Edmonton)
- Royal Alexandra Hospital (Edmonton)
- Stollery Children's Health Centre (Edmonton)
- Cross Cancer Institute (Edmonton)
- Grey Nuns Hospital (Edmonton)
- Misericordia Community Hospital (Edmonton)
- Various Edmonton-area dermatology clinics (Edmonton)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Jaggi Rao
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Edmonton, Alberta
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −10.3 °C
- July average
- 18.1 °C
- Snowfall
- 123.9 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 23.8 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,010,899 people
- Official languages
- English only 91.0% · French only 0.1% · English and French 6.6% · neither 2.3%
- Immigrants
- 32.5% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 5.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.1% · public transit 8.1% · walking or cycling 4.4% · other 2.4%
- Median household income
- $90,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Edmonton, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.114
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.8%
- Basic cost of living
- $58,876 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage