Skip to content
CdnMD

Edmonton - Family Medicine - Addiction Medicine

University of AlbertaEdmonton, AlbertaCompetitive stream

Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match

Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").

Also at Alberta, outside the CaRMS match: Addiction Medicine (Category 2), 4 blocks (16 weeks), consecutive, full-time, for practising or certified family physicians. Applications: Closed 30 Mar 2026 (as of 10 Oct 2026). See it ›: Addiction Medicine (Category 2), on the list of programs applied for at the school

From the school’s own pages, not CaRMS; you apply to the school, on its dates. Confirm on the school’s page before you apply.

CaRMS program description, FM/ES 2027 match, last approved 17 Aug 2026

Positions (approx. quota)
1 position
Length
1 year
Stream
Competitive
Discipline
Family Medicine - Addiction Medicine
Applications per year
0–50
Applicants offered interviews
76–100%
Accreditation
Accredited
CaRMS program ID
34666

Bands are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS. They describe past cycles, not your odds.

Summary

  • This 1-year PGY-3 program trains family physicians to identify, assess and treat substance use disorders.
  • Core rotations include inpatient consultation at Edmonton's largest trauma hospital, inner-city primary care at Radius Community Health & Healing, and a rural and remote experience in Whitehorse, Yukon.
  • The program includes at least 8 weeks of electives and longitudinal Indigenous health training.

Training

Setting
  • Mixed settings
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
  • Rural / remote
Sites

14 teaching sites

  • Radius Community Health & Healing (formerly Boyle McCauley Health Centre)
  • Acute Care Addiction Recovery Program (formerly known as the Addiction Recovery and Community Health “ARCH” program)
  • Addiction Recovery Centre
Show all 14
  • Henwood Treatment Centre
  • Opioid Dependency and Enhanced Addictions Clinic
  • Metro City Medical Clinic
  • Lifemark Centre
  • Kaye Edmonton Hepatitis C Clinic
  • Northern Alberta Program for HIV care
  • VODP/VRAAM
  • Maskwacis Treatment Centre
  • Acute Pain Service at the University of Alberta Hospital
  • Step Up Step Down
  • Addiction care sites & clinics in Whitehorse, Yukon
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation
Focus areas
  • Underserved urban
  • Indigenous health
  • Longitudinal / integrated
  • Northern
Research
Offered · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
Highlights
  • Required rural and remote addiction care rotation in Whitehorse, Yukon.
  • Longitudinal Indigenous health training plus a dedicated rotation at Maskwacis.
  • Year starts with an intensive Addiction Medicine Bootcamp alongside Royal College fellows.

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single year.

  • Inpatient addiction medicine consultation with the Acute Care Addiction Recovery Program (ACARP) (Edmonton’s largest trauma hospital)
  • Multidisciplinary primary care for inner city populations (Radius Community Health & Healing)
  • Opioid agonist management (Opioid Dependency & Enhanced Addiction Clinic (ODEAC), Metro City Clinic and the Virtual Opioid Dependency Program)
  • Acute withdrawal management (Addiction Recovery Centre detox)
  • Bed-based/residential treatment care (Henwood Treatment Centre)
  • Rural & remote addiction care experience (Whitehorse, Yukon)
  • Integrated longitudinal perinatal addiction care
  • Integrated longitudinal Indigenous Health & dedicated rotation (Maskawacis Health Centre)
  • Acute Pain Service with anesthesia consultative support (level 1 trauma hospital)
  • Chronic Pain Clinic
  • Adolescent addiction care in group home environment
  • Hepatitis C & HIV concurrent care clinics
  • Elective time (Minimum of 8 weeks)

Selection

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not required · all residents
Applications per year
0–50
Applicants offered interviews
76–100%

Interviews

Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
Not stated on CaRMS page
Mode
Virtual
Format
  • Panel

Programs can change interview dates. Confirm on carms.ca.

Pay

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Annual salary by PGY level, Alberta
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-3
$80,058 / year

One provincial scale for Alberta, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing PGY-3, the level FM/ES residents usually start at. Yours depends on your training so far.

Benefits

Benefits as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024; check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Annual vacation
4 weeks/yr
Call Stipends
weekday in-house –  $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
CMPA dues paid
$1,500
Dental plan
75% premium paid
Educational leave
14 days paid leave
Extended health insurance
75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
Frequency of calls
In-house call: 7/28. 2/4 weekend call.Home call: 9/28. 2/4 weekend call**A Resident scheduled on Home call but who is required to work more than four hours in hospital during the call period, of which more than one full hour is past 12:00 a.m. and before 6:00 a.m., or more than six (6) hours in hospital during the call period, shall be remunerated at the rate for In-House call.$100 per day for each scheduled weekend day of patient rounds when not on-call
Life insurance
100% towards $150,000 coverage
Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
100% paid
Long-term disability insurance
100% paid for 75% gross income
Maternity Leave
18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
Parental Leave
2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
Practice Stipend
$1,500
Provincial dues (% of salary)
.95%
Sick leave
Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
Statutory holidays
Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 in 4 in-house

The union agreement’s cap for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. Check with the program.

PARA agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2028.

Teaching sites

  • Radius Community Health & Healing (formerly Boyle McCauley Health Centre) (Edmonton)
  • Acute Care Addiction Recovery Program (formerly known as the Addiction Recovery and Community Health “ARCH” program) (Edmonton)
  • Addiction Recovery Centre
  • Henwood Treatment Centre
  • Opioid Dependency and Enhanced Addictions Clinic
  • Metro City Medical Clinic
  • Lifemark Centre
  • Kaye Edmonton Hepatitis C Clinic (Edmonton)
  • Northern Alberta Program for HIV care
  • VODP/VRAAM
  • Maskwacis Treatment Centre (Maskwacis · rural or distributed site)
  • Acute Pain Service at the University of Alberta Hospital (Edmonton)
  • Step Up Step Down
  • Addiction care sites & clinics in Whitehorse, Yukon (Whitehorse · rural or distributed site)

Hospital facts

Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.

Contacts

Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.

Program officeadministrators and coordinators

fmes@ualberta.ca

Ms. Allison Alberto · Program Administrator

Program director

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Location

Edmonton, Alberta

Loading amenities…

About the city

Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.

Climate

Canadian Climate Normals, 1991–2020. Each value comes from the nearest weather station that reports it, not from the city itself.

January average
−10.3 °C Edmonton (City), 4.5 km away
July average
18.1 °C Edmonton (City), 4.5 km away
Snowfall
123.9 cm a year Edmonton (City), 4.5 km away
Days below −20 °C
23.8 days a year Edmonton (City), 4.5 km away

People

2021 Census. Figures are for the municipality of Edmonton, not the metropolitan area. Statistics Canada rounds counts, so small places are approximate.

Population
1,010,899 people up 8.3% from 2016
Official languages
English only 91.0% · French only 0.1% · English and French 6.6% · neither 2.3% Share of residents who can conduct a conversation in each. This is not the language spoken at home.
Immigrants
32.5% of residents arrived 2016–2021: 6.8% · non-permanent residents: 2.4%
Indigenous identity
5.8% of residents
How people commute
car, truck or van 85.1% · public transit 8.1% · walking or cycling 4.4% · other 2.4% Average commute: 23.7 minutes. Shares are of people who commute.The way Canadians commute was altered in 2021 by the pandemic, with lockdowns to slow the spread of COVID-19 and changes in how and where Canadians worked leading to 2.8 million fewer commuters, compared with five years earlier. Statistics Canada, The Daily, 30 Nov 2022(opens in a new tab)
Median household income
$90,000 before tax $79,500 after tax · income year 2020, in 2020 dollars

Rural and remote

This describes the place named by the program’s location label. Programs can train in several towns, so it is not every site.

Population centre
Edmonton, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people) 1,151,635 people in 2021
Remoteness index
0.114 0 is least remote, 1 is most remote. Statistics Canada calls this index experimental.

Housing, cost and work

Each figure names the area it covers. A missing line means the source publishes nothing for this area.

Rental vacancy rate
3.8% October 2025 survey, Edmonton, Alberta (census metropolitan area). The share of purpose-built rentals (three units and over) vacant, not a rent.
Basic cost of living
$58,876 a year Market Basket Measure 2025, Edmonton, Alberta, for two adults with two children. A modest, basic basket (the poverty line), not a resident’s budget. A size-class region is not the town itself.
Unemployment rate
6.9% September 2026, three-month average, seasonally adjusted, Edmonton, Alberta (census metropolitan area); standard error 0.7 points. A survey estimate.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada. Adapted from Statistics Canada, 2021 Census Cartographic Boundary Files.
  • Adapted from Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation, Rental Market Survey, October 2025 (vacancy rates), and Statistics Canada, Table 34-10-0130-01. This does not constitute an endorsement by Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation or Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Data Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (Canadian Climate Normals 1991-2020).
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Index of Remoteness (17-26-0001), 2021. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 14-10-0459-01 Labour force characteristics by census metropolitan area, three-month moving average, seasonally adjusted, reference month 2026-09. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 11-10-0066-01 Market Basket Measure (MBM) thresholds for the reference family by Market Basket Measure region, component and base year, 2025. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0011-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and population centres, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0002-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and census subdivisions (municipalities), 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0057-01 Household income statistics by household type: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0173-01 Mother tongue by knowledge of official languages: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0266-01 Indigenous identity by Registered or Treaty Indian status: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0307-01 Immigrant status and period of immigration by place of birth: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0458-01 Main mode of commuting by commuting duration, time leaving for work, age and gender: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 8 Oct 2026.