Edmonton - Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine
University of AlbertaEdmonton, AlbertaCompetitive stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
- 6 positions
- 1 year
- Competitive
- Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 34643
Summary
- This one-year Family Medicine-Emergency Medicine program is centred in Edmonton, with most rotations at the Royal Alexandra and University of Alberta hospitals.
- All residents also train in an Edmonton community hospital and spend two months at regional centres in Lethbridge and/or Red Deer.
- Residents train alongside the RCPSC Emergency Medicine and Pediatric Emergency Medicine programs, and must complete a scholarly/QI project.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Regional community
- Sites
9 teaching sites
- Royal Alexandra Hospital
- University of Alberta Hospital
- Stollery Children's Hospital
Show all 9Show fewer
- Grey Nuns
- Misericordia Hospital
- Sturgeon Hospitals
- Lethbridge Regional Hospital
- Red Deer Regional Hospital
- Shock Trauma Air Rescue Society (STARS)
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- POCUS curriculum
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
- Highlights
- Longitudinal EMS curriculum with Edmonton ground EMS and STARS air rescue.
- Ultrasound training covers EDE 1 material; residents become CPoCUS IP eligible by year end.
- Two-month summer bootcamp with lots of simulation and hands-on procedural training.
By year
- Year 3
- Emergency Medicine14 weeks
- Emergency Medicine4-8 weeks
- Adult ICU8 weeks
- Emergency Medicine4 weeks
- Pediatric Emergency Medicine4 weeks
- Orthopedic Surgery/General Surgery/Neuro/Ophtho/Elective of your choice0-4 weeks
- Pediatric ICU4 weeks
- Vacation4 Weeks
- Trauma and Ultrasound2 weeks
- Anesthesia2 weeks
- CCU Senior2 weeks
- EMS CurriculumLongitudinal
- Emergency Medicine Longitudinal>8 shifts
- Disaster Med CurriculumLongitudinal
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not required · all residents
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $80,058 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks/yr
- Call Stipends
- weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
- CMPA dues paid
- $1,500
- Dental plan
- 75% premium paid
- Educational leave
- 14 days paid leave
- Extended health insurance
- 75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
- Frequency of calls
- In-house call: 7/28. 2/4 weekend call.Home call: 9/28. 2/4 weekend call**A Resident scheduled on Home call but who is required to work more than four hours in hospital during the call period, of which more than one full hour is past 12:00 a.m. and before 6:00 a.m., or more than six (6) hours in hospital during the call period, shall be remunerated at the rate for In-House call.$100 per day for each scheduled weekend day of patient rounds when not on-call
- Life insurance
- 100% towards $150,000 coverage
- Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
- 100% paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- 100% paid for 75% gross income
- Maternity Leave
- 18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
- Parental Leave
- 2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
- Practice Stipend
- $1,500
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- .95%
- Sick leave
- Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
- Statutory holidays
- Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Royal Alexandra Hospital (Edmonton)
- University of Alberta Hospital (Edmonton)
- Stollery Children's Hospital (Edmonton)
- Grey Nuns (Edmonton)
- Misericordia Hospital (Edmonton)
- Sturgeon Hospitals
- Lethbridge Regional Hospital (Lethbridge · rural or distributed site)
- Red Deer Regional Hospital (Red Deer · rural or distributed site)
- Shock Trauma Air Rescue Society (STARS)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program directors
Dr. Navdeep Dhaliwal
Program Director
Dr. Hazem Shoblak
Assistant Program Director
CaRMS lists no email for the directors.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
Links the program published on CaRMS
Location
Edmonton, Alberta
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −10.3 °C
- July average
- 18.1 °C
- Snowfall
- 123.9 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 23.8 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,010,899 people
- Official languages
- English only 91.0% · French only 0.1% · English and French 6.6% · neither 2.3%
- Immigrants
- 32.5% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 5.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.1% · public transit 8.1% · walking or cycling 4.4% · other 2.4%
- Median household income
- $90,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Edmonton, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.114
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.8%
- Basic cost of living
- $58,876 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%