Edmonton - Family Medicine - Palliative Care
University of AlbertaEdmonton, AlbertaCompetitive stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
- 2 positions
- 1 year
- Competitive
- Family Medicine - Palliative Care
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 34667
Summary
- This 1-year enhanced skills program prepares residents for primary and consultative palliative care in a variety of clinical settings.
- Training includes 4 blocks on the tertiary palliative care unit at the Grey Nuns Hospital plus oncology and consult rotations at the Cross Cancer Institute.
- Residents complete a mentored scholarly project and have one day of protected time per week.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
2 teaching sites
- Grey Nuns Hospital
- Cross Cancer Institute
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Underserved urban
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Highlights
- Longitudinal inner-city care with the Palliative Care Outreach and Advocacy Team throughout the year.
- Residents take the Junior Attending role during their final tertiary palliative care unit blocks.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Tertiary Palliative Care unit (4 blocks · Grey Nuns Hospital)
- Community Consult Team (2 blocks)
- Medical Oncology (2 weeks) and Radiation Oncology (2 weeks) (1 block · Cross Cancer Institute)
- inpatient consults and outpatient consults via the Pain and Symptom Clinic (1 block · Cross Cancer Institute)
- Acute Care Consult Teams (2 blocks)
- elective time (3 blocks)
- Palliative Care Outreach and Advocacy Team (PCOAT) (one day every 4-6 weeks)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not required · all residents
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $80,058 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks/yr
- Call Stipends
- weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
- CMPA dues paid
- $1,500
- Dental plan
- 75% premium paid
- Educational leave
- 14 days paid leave
- Extended health insurance
- 75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
- Frequency of calls
- In-house call: 7/28. 2/4 weekend call.Home call: 9/28. 2/4 weekend call**A Resident scheduled on Home call but who is required to work more than four hours in hospital during the call period, of which more than one full hour is past 12:00 a.m. and before 6:00 a.m., or more than six (6) hours in hospital during the call period, shall be remunerated at the rate for In-House call.$100 per day for each scheduled weekend day of patient rounds when not on-call
- Life insurance
- 100% towards $150,000 coverage
- Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
- 100% paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- 100% paid for 75% gross income
- Maternity Leave
- 18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
- Parental Leave
- 2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
- Practice Stipend
- $1,500
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- .95%
- Sick leave
- Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
- Statutory holidays
- Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Grey Nuns Hospital (Edmonton)
- Cross Cancer Institute (Edmonton)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program directors
Dr. Allison Chabassol
Program Director
Taurian Guinand
Assistant Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
Links the program published on CaRMS
Location
Edmonton, Alberta
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −10.3 °C
- July average
- 18.1 °C
- Snowfall
- 123.9 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 23.8 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,010,899 people
- Official languages
- English only 91.0% · French only 0.1% · English and French 6.6% · neither 2.3%
- Immigrants
- 32.5% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 5.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.1% · public transit 8.1% · walking or cycling 4.4% · other 2.4%
- Median household income
- $90,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Edmonton, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.114
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.8%
- Basic cost of living
- $58,876 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%