Edmonton - Neurology - Pediatric
University of AlbertaEdmonton, AlbertaCMG stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- CMG
- Neurology - Pediatric
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Notice of intent to withdraw accreditation
- 36045
Summary
- This is a 5-year pediatric neurology residency in Edmonton, with most rotations at the University of Alberta Hospital/Stollery Children's Hospital site.
- Residents complete 1-6 blocks of protected research time and at least one scholarly project, and run a longitudinal continuity clinic from second year.
- Following its November 2025 accreditation review, the program was recommended for Accredited Program on Notice of Intent to Withdraw Accreditation status.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
4 teaching sites
- Stollery Children's Hospital
- University of Alberta Hospital
- Royal Alexandra Hospital
Show all 4Show fewer
- Glenrose Rehabilitation Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Call
- In-house call · night float
- Highlights
- Final-year junior attending roles on both the general inpatient and neurocritical care services.
- One call-protected elective block each year, usable for away electives in Canada or internationally.
- Stollery catchment extends to the Northwest Territories and parts of Nunavut.
By year
- PGY-1
- Pediatric Neurology General Inpatient Service2 Blocks
- Pediatric CTU2 Blocks
- Neonatal ICU1 Block
- Pediatric Night Float1 Block
- Pediatric Emergency Medicine1 Block
- Pediatric Psychiatry1 Block
- Developmental Pediatrics1 Block
- Pediatric Neurosurgery1 Block
- Pediatric Hematology-Oncology1 Block
- Pediatric Selective (1 of: Cardiology, Rheumatology, Endocrinology, Infectious Disease)1 Block
- Vacation1 Block
- Orientationfirst 2 weeks
- PGY-2
- Pediatric Neurology General Inpatient Service3 Blocks
- Pediatric ICU1.5 Blocks
- Pediatric Neurocritical Care Service1 Block
- Pediatric Neurology Clinics1 Block
- Pediatric EEG/Epilepsy1 Block
- Metabolics/Genetics1 Block
- Pediatric Physiatry1 Block
- Research1 Block
- Pediatric Cardiovascular ICU0.5 Blocks
- PGY-3
- Pediatric Neurology General Inpatient Service3 Blocks
- Pediatric Neurocritical Care Service1 Block
- Pediatric Neurology Clinics1 Block
- Pediatric EEG/Epilepsy1 Block
- Neuromuscular1 Block
- Call-Protected Elective1 Block
- Pediatric Neuroradiology0.5 Blocks
- PGY-4
- Pediatric Neurology General Inpatient Service3 Blocks
- Pediatric Neurocritical Care Service1 Block
- Pediatric Neurology Clinics1 Block
- Multiple Sclerosis1 Block
- Pediatric Palliative Care1 Block
- Neuropathology1 Block
- Call-Protected Elective1 Block
- Adult Neuroradiology0.5 Blocks
- PGY-5
- Elective (Clinic, Epilepsy, Movement Disorders, Stroke, Multiple Sclerosis, Neuro-ophthalmology, Neuromuscular, Community, etc.)5 Blocks
- Pediatric Neurology Clinics3 Blocks
- Pediatric Neurology Inpatient (Senior Resident)1.5 Blocks
- Pediatric Neurology Junior Attending, General Inpatient Service1.5 Blocks
- Pediatric Neurology Junior Attending, Neurocritical Care Service1 Block
- Call-Protected Elective1 Block
Other rotations
- Research (1-6 Blocks (over all 5 years))
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not required · all residents
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 19 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Info sessions
Mon 18 Jan 2027time not stated
Social · Virtual · Listed under interviews on CaRMS
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $67,440 / year |
| PGY-2 | $74,153 / year |
| PGY-3 | $80,058 / year |
| PGY-4 | $86,281 / year |
| PGY-5 | $92,698 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks/yr
- Call Stipends
- weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
- CMPA dues paid
- $1,500
- Dental plan
- 75% premium paid
- Educational leave
- 14 days paid leave
- Extended health insurance
- 75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
- Frequency of calls
- In-house call: 7/28. 2/4 weekend call.Home call: 9/28. 2/4 weekend call**A Resident scheduled on Home call but who is required to work more than four hours in hospital during the call period, of which more than one full hour is past 12:00 a.m. and before 6:00 a.m., or more than six (6) hours in hospital during the call period, shall be remunerated at the rate for In-House call.$100 per day for each scheduled weekend day of patient rounds when not on-call
- Life insurance
- 100% towards $150,000 coverage
- Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
- 100% paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- 100% paid for 75% gross income
- Maternity Leave
- 18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
- Parental Leave
- 2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
- Practice Stipend
- $1,500
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- .95%
- Sick leave
- Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
- Statutory holidays
- Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Stollery Children's Hospital (Edmonton)
- University of Alberta Hospital (Edmonton)
- Royal Alexandra Hospital (Edmonton)
- Glenrose Rehabilitation Hospital (Edmonton)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 2 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 1 of 9 years.
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2019, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 1 position open after round 2 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 |
| 2026 | 0 | 0 |
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Colin Wilbur
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Edmonton, Alberta
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −10.3 °C
- July average
- 18.1 °C
- Snowfall
- 123.9 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 23.8 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,010,899 people
- Official languages
- English only 91.0% · French only 0.1% · English and French 6.6% · neither 2.3%
- Immigrants
- 32.5% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 5.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.1% · public transit 8.1% · walking or cycling 4.4% · other 2.4%
- Median household income
- $90,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Edmonton, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.114
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.8%
- Basic cost of living
- $58,876 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage