Edmonton - Ophthalmology
University of AlbertaEdmonton, AlbertaCMG stream
- 3 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Ophthalmology
- 51–200
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 36099
Summary
- The University of Alberta Ophthalmology residency is a five-year program centred on the Regional Eye Centre at the Royal Alexandra Hospital.
- PGY-1 includes off-service rotations and the mandatory six-week TORIC course, and the core cataract surgery year spans the end of PGY-4 into PGY-5.
- Residents must take part in research from PGY-2 onwards, and interviews are held online.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
6 teaching sites
- Regional Eye Centre, Royal Alexandra Hospital
- Stollery Children's Hospital at the University of Alberta Hospital
- Vision Care Group (LASIK MD), Eye Q Laser
Show all 6Show fewer
- Alberta EyeMD
- Alberta Retina Consultants
- Glaucoma Consultants
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project
- Highlights
- Dedicated Ophthalmic Surgical Skills Centre wet lab with surgical simulator and 24-hour resident access.
By year
- PGY-1
- general ophthalmology clinics12 weeks
- Toronto Ophthalmology Residency Introductory Course (TORIC)six-week
- shadow and attend all clinics with the PGY-2 resident on calltwo weeks
- Internal Medicine
- Pediatrics
- Plastic Surgery
- Neurology
- Rheumatology
- Emergency Medicine
- Neuro-radiology
- Elective/Research opportunities
- PGY-2
- elective4 weeks
- preceptor-specific general rotation4-week
- rotation in ophthalmic diagnostics2-weeks
- Day Call
- General Clinics
- Glaucoma
- Retina
- PGY-5
- dedicated study time4 weeks
- core cataract surgery
- elective time
- community/flex rotation
Other rotations
- Pediatric Ophthalmology and Adult Strabismus (PGY-3 & 4)
- Oculoplastics (PGY-3 & 4)
- Glaucoma (PGY-3 & 4)
- Retina (PGY-3 & 4)
- Neuro-ophthalmology (PGY-3 & 4)
- Cornea/external disease (PGY-3 & 4)
- clinical or research elective time (PGY-3 & 4 · 8 weeks)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not required · all residents
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 5 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Info sessions
Thu 4 Feb 2027time not stated
Social · Virtual · For all applicants · Listed under interviews on CaRMS
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $67,440 / year |
| PGY-2 | $74,153 / year |
| PGY-3 | $80,058 / year |
| PGY-4 | $86,281 / year |
| PGY-5 | $92,698 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks/yr
- Call Stipends
- weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
- CMPA dues paid
- $1,500
- Dental plan
- 75% premium paid
- Educational leave
- 14 days paid leave
- Extended health insurance
- 75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
- Frequency of calls
- In-house call: 7/28. 2/4 weekend call.Home call: 9/28. 2/4 weekend call**A Resident scheduled on Home call but who is required to work more than four hours in hospital during the call period, of which more than one full hour is past 12:00 a.m. and before 6:00 a.m., or more than six (6) hours in hospital during the call period, shall be remunerated at the rate for In-House call.$100 per day for each scheduled weekend day of patient rounds when not on-call
- Life insurance
- 100% towards $150,000 coverage
- Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
- 100% paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- 100% paid for 75% gross income
- Maternity Leave
- 18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
- Parental Leave
- 2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
- Practice Stipend
- $1,500
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- .95%
- Sick leave
- Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
- Statutory holidays
- Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Regional Eye Centre, Royal Alexandra Hospital (Edmonton)
- Stollery Children's Hospital at the University of Alberta Hospital (Edmonton)
- Vision Care Group (LASIK MD), Eye Q Laser
- Alberta EyeMD
- Alberta Retina Consultants
- Glaucoma Consultants
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program directors
Dr. Marcela Strungaru
Co-Program Director
Imran Jivraj
Co-Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Edmonton, Alberta
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −10.3 °C
- July average
- 18.1 °C
- Snowfall
- 123.9 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 23.8 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,010,899 people
- Official languages
- English only 91.0% · French only 0.1% · English and French 6.6% · neither 2.3%
- Immigrants
- 32.5% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 5.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.1% · public transit 8.1% · walking or cycling 4.4% · other 2.4%
- Median household income
- $90,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Edmonton, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.114
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.8%
- Basic cost of living
- $58,876 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Very good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage