Elliot Lake - Family Medicine
NOSM UniversityElliot Lake, OntarioCMG streamNew for 2027
- 1 position
- 2 years
- CMG
- Family Medicine
- 51–200
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 37189
Summary
- This two-year NOSM University family medicine program is based in Elliot Lake, a community of about 11,300.
- Training uses a community-based preceptor model at the Elliot Lake Family Health Team and St. Joseph's General Hospital.
- Off-service rotations often take place at Health Sciences North in Sudbury or Sault Area Hospital.
- The sample schedule includes 24 weeks of rural family medicine in each year.
Training
- Setting
- Rural / remote
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
4 teaching sites
- Elliot Lake Family Health Team
- St. Joseph's General Hospital
- Health Sciences North
Show all 4Show fewer
- Sault Area Hospital
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Based in a rural community
- Focus areas
- Rural / remote
- Northern
- Indigenous health
- Francophone minority communities
- Research
- Offered · research or quality-improvement project
- Getting around
- A car is recommended
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Travel is reimbursed
- Highlights
- Home visits with a rural midwife caring for Mennonite and Amish communities along the North Shore.
- Extra $1500 donor funding for rural stream residents to attend skills courses such as CASTED or ALARM.
By year
- PGY-1
- Family Medicine Rural24 weeks
- Electives8 weeks
- Internal Medicine4 weeks
- Emergency Medicine4 weeks
- Obstetrics/Women's Health4 weeks
- Mental Health4 weeks
- Pediatrics4 weeks
- PGY-2
- Family Medicine Rural24 weeks
- Electives8 weeks
- CARE Selective (Community Aligned Resident Experience)4 weeks
- Internal Medicine4 weeks
- Emergency Medicine4 weeks
- Obstetrics/Women's Health4 weeks
- Surgical Selective4 weeks
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 21, 22 and 23 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Info sessions
Tue 27 Oct 20267:00 pm EST
Info session · Virtual
Link for NOSM University, Tue 27 Oct 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Thu 7 Jan 20277:00 pm EST
Social · Virtual
Link for NOSM University, Thu 7 Jan 2027 (opens in a new tab)
Mon 25 Jan 20277:00 pm EST
Info session · Virtual
Link for NOSM University, Mon 25 Jan 2027 (opens in a new tab)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Elliot Lake Family Health Team (Elliot Lake)
- St. Joseph's General Hospital (Elliot Lake)
- Health Sciences North (Sudbury)
- Sault Area Hospital (Sault Ste. Marie)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
George Drazenovich
Program Coordinator
Program director
Dr. Jason Sutherland
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Site staffdirectors and coordinators at the teaching sites
Dr. Crystal Boulianne
Site Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Elliot Lake, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.0 °C
- July average
- 19.4 °C
- Snowfall
- not reported
- Days below −20 °C
- 15.9 days a year
People
- Population
- 11,372 people
- Official languages
- English only 80.1% · French only 0.8% · English and French 19.0% · neither 0.1%
- Immigrants
- 10.5% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 8.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 87.9% · public transit 1.3% · walking or cycling 8.1% · other 2.6%
- Median household income
- $50,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Elliot Lake, a small population centre (1,000 to 29,999 people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.373
- Rurality Index for Ontario
- RIO2008 score 71 Official page(opens in a new tab)
- Student loan forgiveness
- Family medicine here may qualify for up to $60,000 of Canada Student Loan forgiveness. Eligibility depends on the postal code of where you work: check the official postal-code lookup. Postal-code lookup(opens in a new tab)
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 1.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $52,873 a year
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Very good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage