Fraser - Anesthesiology
University of British ColumbiaFraser, British ColumbiaCMG streamNew for 2027
- 4 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Anesthesiology
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 36947
Summary
- The Fraser track is a five-year UBC Anesthesiology residency entry track with a Fraser Health clinical home, sharing the curriculum of the Vancouver track.
- PGY-1 is completed at Royal Columbian Hospital, with most anesthesia rotations at Fraser Health sites including Surrey Memorial Hospital.
- Residents must complete a 4-week block in Victoria and another outside the Lower Mainland, and all complete scholarly work.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
16 teaching sites
- Royal Columbian Hospital
- Surrey Memorial Hospital
- Burnaby Hospital
Show all 16Show fewer
- Abbotsford Regional Hospital and Cancer Centre
- BC Children’s Hospital
- BC Women’s Hospital + Health Centre
- Vancouver General Hospital
- St. Paul’s Hospital
- Royal Jubilee Hospital
- Victoria General Hospital
- Kelowna General Hospital
- Royal Inland Hospital
- University Hospital of Northern British Columbia
- Penticton Regional Hospital
- Nanaimo Regional General Hospital
- East Kootenay Regional Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Call
- In-house call
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Travel is reimbursed
- Highlights
- Required rotations away from the home region are university-supported, including travel and accommodation.
- Applicants to both Fraser and Vancouver tracks complete one combined interview used for both rank lists.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- block in Victoria (PGY-3 to PGY-5 · 4-week block · Victoria)
- additional 4-week block elsewhere in British Columbia outside the Lower Mainland (PGY-3 to PGY-5 · 4-week block · elsewhere in British Columbia outside the Lower Mainland)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 2, 3 and 4 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $71,390 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,571 / year |
| PGY-3 | $86,655 / year |
| PGY-4 | $93,230 / year |
| PGY-5 | $100,215 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes. Mandatory
- Dental plan
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Frequency of calls
- 1 in 4 onsite/1 in 3 offsite
- Life insurance
- 100% Premium Paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- Yes 100% Premiums Paid
- Maternity leave
- 17 weeks, plus up to 78 weeks Parental Leave
- Meal allowance
- No
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.5%
- Provincial health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory holidays
- 2 x pay plus extra day with pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Royal Columbian Hospital (New Westminster)
- Surrey Memorial Hospital (Surrey)
- Burnaby Hospital (Burnaby)
- Abbotsford Regional Hospital and Cancer Centre (Abbotsford)
- BC Children’s Hospital (Vancouver)
- BC Women’s Hospital + Health Centre (Vancouver)
- Vancouver General Hospital (Vancouver)
- St. Paul’s Hospital (Vancouver)
- Royal Jubilee Hospital (Victoria · rural or distributed site)
- Victoria General Hospital (Victoria · rural or distributed site)
- Kelowna General Hospital (Kelowna · rural or distributed site)
- Royal Inland Hospital (Kamloops · rural or distributed site)
- University Hospital of Northern British Columbia (Prince George · rural or distributed site)
- Penticton Regional Hospital (Penticton · rural or distributed site)
- Nanaimo Regional General Hospital (Nanaimo · rural or distributed site)
- East Kootenay Regional Hospital (Cranbrook · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Royal Columbian Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,798
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,447
Surrey Memorial Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 11,911
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,849
Burnaby Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,388
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,058
Show facts for 13 more sitesShow fewer
Abbotsford Regional Hospital and Cancer Centre
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 6,232
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,667
BC Children’s Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,396
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,910
BC Women’s Hospital + Health Centre
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 5,033
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,348
Vancouver General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 13,790
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,855
St. Paul’s Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,691
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,240
Royal Jubilee Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 14,532
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,973
Victoria General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,131
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,108
Kelowna General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 15,707
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 4,090
Royal Inland Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 10,812
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,914
University Hospital of Northern British Columbia
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,520
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,127
Penticton Regional Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 3,482
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 837
Nanaimo Regional General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 9,004
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,040
East Kootenay Regional Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,520
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,068
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program directors
Dr. Christopher Nixon-Giles
Associate Program Director
Dr. Zoe Brown
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Discussed on Reddit
Public Reddit posts and comments where someone describes this program. Each one links to Reddit.
- anesthesia programs pros and cons (opens Reddit in a new tab)
Victoria PGY1 placement and weekly Vancouver academic days in anesthesia
- anesthesia programs pros and cons (opens Reddit in a new tab)
Moonlighting opportunities and pay for anesthesia residents
- anesthesia programs pros and cons (opens Reddit in a new tab)
UBC anesthesia resident on culture, sites, call, cost of living
Location
Fraser, British Columbia