Gatineau - Family Medicine
McGill UniversityGatineau, QuebecRegular stream
- Not yet posted on CaRMS
- 2 years
- Regular
- Family Medicine
- 51–200
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 35673
Summary
- This is a two-year McGill family medicine program based at the GMF Universitaire de Gatineau within the CISSS de l’Outaouais.
- Training is in French, and hospital medicine, obstetrics and pediatrics are done at Hôpital de Gatineau.
- All residents spend two months in a rural setting, and a critical appraisal or quality project is mandatory.
Training
- Setting
- Regional community
- Rural / remote
- Sites
17 teaching sites
- GMF-Universitaire de Gatineau
- Hôpital de Gatineau
- Hôpital de Hull
Show all 17Show fewer
- Hôpital Pierre Janet
- CHSLD Foyer du Bonheur
- CLSC de Hull
- hôpital de Buckingham
- Clinique de Chirurgie de Gatineau
- Centre de pédiatrie sociale de Gatineau
- Maison Mathieu-Froment-Savoie
- clinique des femmes
- Maison des naissances
- Maison des Collines
- GMF de Touraine
- GMF St-Alexandre
- Clinique médicale de Wakefield
- GMF-U de la Vallée-de-l’Or
- Rural exposure
- Required rural rotation
- Focus areas
- Longitudinal / integrated
- Small program
- Rural / remote
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
- Training language
- French
- Enhanced skills
- Emergency Medicine
- Care of the Elderly
- Palliative Care
- Hospital Medicine
- Clinician Scholar / Research
- Sport and Exercise Medicine
- Maternity and Newborn Care
- Highlights
- Optional 3–6 month intensive rural block in Shawville, Maniwaki, Wakefield or Val-d'Or during second year.
- Dedicated hospital medicine teaching unit (UMF-H) for residents at Hôpital de Gatineau.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- milieu rural (deux mois)
- Volet Rural (2 e année de résidence · 3 à 6 mois · Shawville, à Maniwaki, à Wakefield ou au GMF-U de la Vallée-de-l’Or)
Selection
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- IMG requirements
- Recent clinical experience (within 4 years)
- Observerships don’t count as clinical experience
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 21, 25 and 28 Jan 2027; 2 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- GMF-Universitaire de Gatineau (Gatineau)
- Hôpital de Gatineau (Gatineau)
- Hôpital de Hull (Gatineau)
- Hôpital Pierre Janet (Gatineau)
- CHSLD Foyer du Bonheur (Gatineau)
- CLSC de Hull (Gatineau)
- hôpital de Buckingham (Buckingham)
- Clinique de Chirurgie de Gatineau (Gatineau)
- Centre de pédiatrie sociale de Gatineau (Gatineau)
- Maison Mathieu-Froment-Savoie
- clinique des femmes
- Maison des naissances
- Maison des Collines
- GMF de Touraine
- GMF St-Alexandre
- Clinique médicale de Wakefield (Wakefield · rural or distributed site)
- GMF-U de la Vallée-de-l’Or (Val-d'Or · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Hôpital de Gatineau
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 16,018 · 2026–2027: 15,386
- Licensed beds
- physical health 121 · psychiatry 40 · neonatology 37
Hôpital de Hull
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 14,660 · 2026–2027: 14,537
- Licensed beds
- physical health 230
hôpital de Buckingham
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 9,891 · 2026–2027: 9,700
- Licensed beds
- physical health 62 · psychiatry 1
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 6 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 6 of 9 years.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
07.residence_medecine_familiale@ssss.gouv.qc.ca
Mme Marie-France Richard · Adjointe à l'enseignement universitaire de la résidence en médecine familiale
Mme Julie Lane
Gestionnaire, enseignement postdoctoral
Program directors
Dr(e) Fanny Hersson-Edery
Dre Daphnée Ellyson
Directrice à l'éducation de la médecine familiale (par intérim)
CaRMS lists no email for the directors.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Gatineau, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.6 °C
- July average
- 21.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 184.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 15.4 days a year
People
- Population
- 291,041 people
- Official languages
- English only 8.4% · French only 25.9% · English and French 65.0% · neither 0.7%
- Immigrants
- 15.5% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 4.1% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 81.4% · public transit 10.7% · walking or cycling 5.6% · other 2.3%
- Median household income
- $82,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Ottawa - Gatineau, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.098
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.8%
- Basic cost of living
- $47,414 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.3%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage