Greater Toronto Area - Family Medicine
University of TorontoGreater Toronto Area, OntarioCMG stream
- Not yet posted on CaRMS
- 2 years
- CMG
- Family Medicine
- 601+
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 36182
Summary
- This two-year University of Toronto family medicine stream trains residents at 12 hospital teaching sites in Toronto, Scarborough, North York and Mississauga.
- Teaching sites are assigned through a post-match internal ranking process.
- Second-year residents complete two consecutive four-week community/rural blocks, and all residents complete an academic project.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Rural / remote
- Regional community
- Sites
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Rural exposure
- Required rural rotation (8 weeks)
- Focus areas
- Rural / remote
- Indigenous health
- Underserved urban
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project
- Enhanced skills
- Emergency Medicine
- Anesthesia
- Maternity and Newborn Care
- Women's Health
- Care of the Elderly
- Sport and Exercise Medicine
- Addiction Medicine
- Other
- Getting around
- A car is required
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Travel is reimbursed
- Highlights
- Twice-yearly progress testing (FM-MAP) of all residents on medical expert knowledge application.
- Integrated 3-year option combining residency with a DFCM MPH or MScCH master's degree.
- Required virtual care competency e-learning modules (ViCCTR) for all residents.
By year
- PGY-2
- Teaching Practices: Community/Rural Family Medicine Experiencetwo consecutive four-week blocks
Other rotations
- Foundations of Family Medicine (one-month)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 601+
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 18, 19, 21 and 25 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
Not stated on CaRMS page
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program directors
Dr. Stuart Murdoch
Dr. Batya Grundland
Dr. Karina Prucnal
Associate Program Director, Recruitment & Admissions
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Discussed on Reddit
Public Reddit posts and comments where someone describes this program. Each one links to Reddit.
- UofT FM Sites (opens Reddit in a new tab)
Second-hand accounts of UofT FM sites: FM-OB call, ED rotation, parking
Location
Greater Toronto Area, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.5 °C
- July average
- 22.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 1.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 2,794,356 people
- Official languages
- English only 86.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 8.5% · neither 4.5%
- Immigrants
- 46.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 61.0% · public transit 26.2% · walking or cycling 9.6% · other 3.2%
- Median household income
- $84,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Toronto, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.000
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.0%
- Basic cost of living
- $62,880 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage