Halifax - Anesthesiology
Dalhousie UniversityHalifax, Nova ScotiaCMG stream
- 7 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Anesthesiology
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 36518
Summary
- Dalhousie's five-year anesthesia residency is based at the QEII Health Science Center in Halifax, with pediatric and obstetric training at the IWK Health Centre.
- At least 10% of training, about 6 blocks, takes place at sites outside Halifax Regional Municipality.
- Residents must complete a scholarly project and have up to 8 months of elective time.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
6 teaching sites
- QEII Health Science Center
- Halifax Infirmary
- Victoria General
Show all 6Show fewer
- Dartmouth General Hospital
- IWK Health Centre
- Horizon Health New Brunswick - Moncton
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- POCUS curriculum
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project
- Highlights
- Up to 8 months of elective time across training.
- Minimum of about 6 blocks at community sites across the Maritimes outside Halifax.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- orientation in non-subspecialty anesthesia (Transition to Discipline · 2 blocks)
- Airway and ENT (Foundations)
- Perioperative Medicine (Foundations)
- Surgery (Foundations)
- Obstetrics (Foundations)
- Pediatrics (Foundations)
- Cardiovascular (Foundations)
- Pain and Regional (Foundations)
- Emergency and Critical Care (Foundations)
- PLB (Personal Learning Block) (Foundations)
- Pediatrics (Core)
- Neuro (Core)
- Obstetrics (Core)
- Cardiovascular (Core)
- POCUS (Core)
- Thoracic (Core)
- Complex Surgery (Core)
- Community (Core)
- Out of OR anesthesia (Core)
- Perioperative Medicine (Core)
- Pain and Regional (Core)
- Emergency and Critical Care Medicine (Core)
- Other (Core)
- Pediatrics (Transition To Practice)
- Obstetrics (Transition To Practice)
- Complex Surgery (Transition To Practice)
- Community anesthesia (Transition To Practice)
- Critical Care (Transition To Practice)
- electives or scholarly work (Transition To Practice · 8 blocks)
Selection
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 30 and 31 Jan 2027
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Info sessions
Info sessions planned, dates not published yet.
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $78,578 / year |
| PGY-2 | $83,904 / year |
| PGY-3 | $89,462 / year |
| PGY-4 | $95,485 / year |
| PGY-5 | $101,926 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- Call stipend
- Yes
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes
- Dental coverage
- Yes
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- Yes
- Frequency of call
- l in 4 in-hospital and for homecall
- Life insurance
- $100,000 of insurance
- Long-term disabilityinsurance
- 66.7% of salary
- Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
- eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.30%
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory and floating holidays
- paid
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 night in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- QEII Health Science Center (Halifax)
- Halifax Infirmary (Halifax)
- Victoria General (Halifax)
- Dartmouth General Hospital (Dartmouth)
- IWK Health Centre (Halifax)
- Horizon Health New Brunswick - Moncton (Moncton · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
QEII Health Science Center
QEII - Halifax Infirmary Site (Halifax)
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
QEII - Victoria General (VG) Site (Halifax)
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
Halifax Infirmary
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
Victoria General
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
Show facts for 2 more sitesShow fewer
Dartmouth General Hospital
- Hospital type
- Regional
IWK Health Centre
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program directors
Dr. Shannon Bradley
Program Director
Dr. Stephen Middleton
Associate Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Halifax, Nova Scotia
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −4.1 °C
- July average
- 18.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 215.2 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.9 days a year
People
- Population
- 439,819 people
- Official languages
- English only 87.1% · French only 0.1% · English and French 12.2% · neither 0.6%
- Immigrants
- 11.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 3.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 81.5% · public transit 8.1% · walking or cycling 8.0% · other 2.4%
- Median household income
- $81,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Halifax, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.199
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.6%
- Basic cost of living
- $54,855 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.8%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Very good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage