Halifax - Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine
Dalhousie UniversityHalifax, Nova ScotiaCompetitive stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
- 4 positions
- 1 year
- Competitive
- Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 34585
Summary
- Dalhousie's Enhanced Skills in Emergency Medicine program is a 1-year residency leading to a recommendation for the CFPC(EM) certificate.
- Training is centred at the QEII Health Sciences Centre and IWK Health Centre in Halifax, with rotations at Saint John Regional Hospital and Dartmouth General Hospital.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
8 teaching sites
- QEII Health Sciences Centre, Charles V. Keating Emergency & Trauma Department
- IWK Health Centre
- Dartmouth General Hospital
Show all 8Show fewer
- Saint John Regional Hospital, Horizon Health Network
- Moncton Hospital, Horizon Health Network
- Valley Regional Hospital
- St. Michael's Hospital
- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- POCUS curriculum
- Small program
- Indigenous health
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
- Highlights
- Required 4-week trauma rotation at Sunnybrook or St. Michael's Hospital in Toronto.
- Longitudinal toxicology training through the IWK Health Centre Poison Control Centre.
- Simulation includes high-fidelity cadaver-based sessions and an abbreviated AIME airway course.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Anesthesia (4 weeks · Saint John Regional Hospital)
- Emergency Medicine (12 weeks · QEII Health Sciences Centre)
- Emergency Medicine (4 weeks · Community Hospital - Dartmouth General Hospital)
- Emergency Medicine (4 weeks · Selective EM choice that is a CFPC accredited training site)
- Pediatric Emergency Medicine (4 weeks · IWK Health Centre)
- ICU (8 weeks · QEII Health Sciences Centre)
- CCU (4 weeks · QEII Health Sciences Centre)
- Combined Orthopedic/Plastic Surgery (4 weeks · Saint John Regional Hospital)
- Elective (4 weeks · To be determined)
- Trauma Rotation (4 weeks · Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre or St. Michael's Hospital)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- 29 and 30 Oct 2026
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $89,462 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- Call stipend
- Yes
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes
- Dental coverage
- Yes
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- Yes
- Frequency of call
- l in 4 in-hospital and for homecall
- Life insurance
- $100,000 of insurance
- Long-term disabilityinsurance
- 66.7% of salary
- Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
- eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.30%
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory and floating holidays
- paid
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 night in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- QEII Health Sciences Centre, Charles V. Keating Emergency & Trauma Department (Halifax)
- IWK Health Centre (Halifax)
- Dartmouth General Hospital (Dartmouth)
- Saint John Regional Hospital, Horizon Health Network (Saint John)
- Moncton Hospital, Horizon Health Network (Moncton · rural or distributed site)
- Valley Regional Hospital (Kentville · rural or distributed site)
- St. Michael's Hospital (Toronto)
- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre (Toronto)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
QEII Health Sciences Centre, Charles V. Keating Emergency & Trauma Department
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
IWK Health Centre
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
Dartmouth General Hospital
- Hospital type
- Regional
Show facts for 3 more sitesShow fewer
Saint John Regional Hospital, Horizon Health Network
- Inpatient beds
- 445
Moncton Hospital, Horizon Health Network
- Inpatient beds
- 381
Valley Regional Hospital
- Hospital type
- Regional
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Ryan Henneberry
ESEM Residency Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Halifax, Nova Scotia
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −4.1 °C
- July average
- 18.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 215.2 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.9 days a year
People
- Population
- 439,819 people
- Official languages
- English only 87.1% · French only 0.1% · English and French 12.2% · neither 0.6%
- Immigrants
- 11.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 3.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 81.5% · public transit 8.1% · walking or cycling 8.0% · other 2.4%
- Median household income
- $81,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Halifax, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.199
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.6%
- Basic cost of living
- $54,855 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.8%