Halifax - Neurosurgery
Dalhousie UniversityHalifax, Nova ScotiaCMG stream
- 1 position
- 6 years
- CMG
- Neurosurgery
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 36402
Summary
- Dalhousie Neurosurgery is a 6-year program based in Halifax, with adult care at the QEII Health Sciences Centre and pediatric care at the IWK Health Centre.
- Core years include a 3-block community neurosurgery rotation in Saint John, Moncton or St. John's, plus 3 blocks of neuropathology.
- Most residents complete a research year, typically in PGY-4.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
5 teaching sites
- Halifax Infirmary, QE II Health Sciences Centre
- IWK Health Centre
- Saint John Regional Hospital
Show all 5Show fewer
- The Moncton Hospital
- Health Sciences Centre - Eastern Health
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Offered · research project · protected time
- Call
- In-house and home call · frequency “maximum 1 in 4”
- Highlights
- Required three-month community neurosurgery rotation at another Atlantic Canadian neurosurgical unit.
- Resident-to-faculty ratio of one to one.
By year
- PGY-1
- Neurosurgical Servicesix blocks
- Emergency Medicine
- Anesthesia
- Vascular Surgery
- Plastic Surgery
- Otolaryngology
- Radiation Oncology
- PGY-2
- Neurosurgery7 blocks
- Critical Care2 blocks
- Neuroradiology2 blocks
- Orthopedic Surgery1 block
- Neurology1 block
Other rotations
- community neurosurgery (PGY-3 to 6 (Core of Discipline) · 3 block · Saint John and Moncton, NB; St. John's, NL.)
- neuropathology (PGY-3 to 6 (Core of Discipline) · 3 blocks)
- academic enrichment (PGY-3 to 6 (Core of Discipline) · One year)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 22 Jan 2027
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $78,578 / year |
| PGY-2 | $83,904 / year |
| PGY-3 | $89,462 / year |
| PGY-4 | $95,485 / year |
| PGY-5 | $101,926 / year |
| PGY-6 | $108,066 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- Call stipend
- Yes
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes
- Dental coverage
- Yes
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- Yes
- Frequency of call
- l in 4 in-hospital and for homecall
- Life insurance
- $100,000 of insurance
- Long-term disabilityinsurance
- 66.7% of salary
- Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
- eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.30%
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory and floating holidays
- paid
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 night in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Halifax Infirmary, QE II Health Sciences Centre (Halifax)
- IWK Health Centre (Halifax)
- Saint John Regional Hospital (Saint John · rural or distributed site)
- The Moncton Hospital (Moncton · rural or distributed site)
- Health Sciences Centre - Eastern Health (St. John's · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Halifax Infirmary, QE II Health Sciences Centre
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
IWK Health Centre
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
Saint John Regional Hospital
- Inpatient beds
- 445
Show facts for 1 more sitesShow fewer
The Moncton Hospital
- Inpatient beds
- 381
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Gwynedd Pickett
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Halifax, Nova Scotia
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −4.1 °C
- July average
- 18.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 215.2 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.9 days a year
People
- Population
- 439,819 people
- Official languages
- English only 87.1% · French only 0.1% · English and French 12.2% · neither 0.6%
- Immigrants
- 11.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 3.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 81.5% · public transit 8.1% · walking or cycling 8.0% · other 2.4%
- Median household income
- $81,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Halifax, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.199
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.6%
- Basic cost of living
- $54,855 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.8%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Very good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage