Halifax - Ophthalmology
Dalhousie UniversityHalifax, Nova ScotiaCMG stream
- 2 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Ophthalmology
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 36373
Summary
- Dalhousie Ophthalmology is a 5-year residency based mainly at the QEII Eye Care Centre and the IWK Health Centre in Halifax.
- PGY-1 off-service rotations take place in Halifax and Saint John, ending with the six-week Toronto Ophthalmology Residents' Introductory Course.
- Residents complete a research project with protected time across the four core years and do required rotations outside Halifax within the Maritimes.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
6 teaching sites
- QEII Health Sciences Centre, Victoria General Hospital, 1276 South Park St, Eye Care Centre
- QEII Health Sciences Centre, Halifax Infirmary
- IWK Health Centre, Pediatric Ophthalmology Department
Show all 6Show fewer
- Bayers Lake Community Outpatient Centre
- Halifax Vision Surgical Centre
- New Brunswick - Cornea
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- PGY-5 residents act as junior attending supervising the emergency eye clinic.
- Department is associated with a Canadian and American Orthoptic Councils training centre.
By year
- PGY-3
- Basic Science Course4-week
Other rotations
- ophthalmology block (Transition to Discipline · 1)
- off-service blocks (Foundations of Discipline · 8)
- Toronto Ophthalmology Residents' Introductory Course (Foundations of Discipline · 6 weeks · Toronto)
- Emergency Eye Clinic (Core of Discipline · 3-6 blocks)
- surgical blocks (Core of Discipline · 4-5)
- community block (Core of Discipline)
- elective blocks (Core of Discipline · 2-3)
- Subspecialty Ophthalmology blocks (Core of Discipline)
- Emergency Eye Clinic (as junior attending) (Transition to Practice · 1-2 blocks)
- subspeciality blocks (Transition to Practice)
- community block (Transition to Practice)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 18 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $78,578 / year |
| PGY-2 | $83,904 / year |
| PGY-3 | $89,462 / year |
| PGY-4 | $95,485 / year |
| PGY-5 | $101,926 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- Call stipend
- Yes
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes
- Dental coverage
- Yes
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- Yes
- Frequency of call
- l in 4 in-hospital and for homecall
- Life insurance
- $100,000 of insurance
- Long-term disabilityinsurance
- 66.7% of salary
- Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
- eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.30%
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory and floating holidays
- paid
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 night in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- QEII Health Sciences Centre, Victoria General Hospital, 1276 South Park St, Eye Care Centre (Halifax)
- QEII Health Sciences Centre, Halifax Infirmary (Halifax)
- IWK Health Centre, Pediatric Ophthalmology Department (Halifax)
- Bayers Lake Community Outpatient Centre (Halifax)
- Halifax Vision Surgical Centre (Halifax)
- New Brunswick - Cornea (Rothesay · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
QEII Health Sciences Centre, Victoria General Hospital, 1276 South Park St, Eye Care Centre
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
QEII Health Sciences Centre, Halifax Infirmary
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
IWK Health Centre, Pediatric Ophthalmology Department
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program directors
Dr. Danielle Cadieux
Dr. Dani Cadieux
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Halifax, Nova Scotia
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −4.1 °C
- July average
- 18.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 215.2 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.9 days a year
People
- Population
- 439,819 people
- Official languages
- English only 87.1% · French only 0.1% · English and French 12.2% · neither 0.6%
- Immigrants
- 11.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 3.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 81.5% · public transit 8.1% · walking or cycling 8.0% · other 2.4%
- Median household income
- $81,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Halifax, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.199
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.6%
- Basic cost of living
- $54,855 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.8%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Very good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage