Halifax - Orthopedic Surgery
Dalhousie UniversityHalifax, Nova ScotiaCMG stream
- 2 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Orthopedic Surgery
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 36329
Summary
- Dalhousie's five-year orthopaedic surgery residency trains mainly at the Halifax Infirmary within the QEII Health Sciences Centre, with paediatric rotations at the IWK Hospital for Children.
- PGY3 includes a required 12-week community rotation at Saint John Regional Hospital, for which housing is arranged.
- A 4-week research rotation in PGY2 is mandatory, and PGY4 includes a three-month elective period.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
6 teaching sites
- Halifax Infirmary Hospital within the Queen Elizabeth II Health Science Centre
- IWK Hospital for Children
- Hants Community Hospital
Show all 6Show fewer
- Scotia Surgery
- Dartmouth General Hospital
- Saint John Regional Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Highlights
- Three-month PGY4 elective period that can be done nationally or internationally.
By year
- PGY-1
- Adult Orthopaedics28 - 32 Weeks
- Paediatric Orthopaedics8 - 12 Weeks
- Foundational Experiences Rotation4 Weeks
- PGY-2
- Adult Orthopaedics32 Weeks
- ICU8 Weeks
- Vascular Surgery8 Weeks
- Research4 Weeks
- PGY-3
- community Orthopaedic rotationthree-month
- PGY-4
- elective periodthree-month
Other rotations
- Community Orthopaedics (PGY3, PGY4 & PGY5)
- Paediatric Orthopaedics (PGY3, PGY4 & PGY5)
- Spine (PGY3, PGY4 & PGY5)
- Trauma (PGY3, PGY4 & PGY5)
- Sports (PGY3, PGY4 & PGY5)
- Arthroplasty (PGY3, PGY4 & PGY5)
- Tumor (PGY3, PGY4 & PGY5)
- Upper Extremity (PGY3, PGY4 & PGY5)
- Foot and Ankle (PGY3, PGY4 & PGY5)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 19 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $78,578 / year |
| PGY-2 | $83,904 / year |
| PGY-3 | $89,462 / year |
| PGY-4 | $95,485 / year |
| PGY-5 | $101,926 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- Call stipend
- Yes
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes
- Dental coverage
- Yes
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- Yes
- Frequency of call
- l in 4 in-hospital and for homecall
- Life insurance
- $100,000 of insurance
- Long-term disabilityinsurance
- 66.7% of salary
- Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
- eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.30%
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory and floating holidays
- paid
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 night in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Halifax Infirmary Hospital within the Queen Elizabeth II Health Science Centre (Halifax)
- IWK Hospital for Children (Halifax)
- Hants Community Hospital (Windsor)
- Scotia Surgery (Dartmouth)
- Dartmouth General Hospital (Dartmouth)
- Saint John Regional Hospital (Saint John · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Halifax Infirmary Hospital within the Queen Elizabeth II Health Science Centre
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
IWK Hospital for Children
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
Hants Community Hospital
- Hospital type
- Community
Show facts for 2 more sitesShow fewer
Dartmouth General Hospital
- Hospital type
- Regional
Saint John Regional Hospital
- Inpatient beds
- 445
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program directors
Dr. David Wilson
Dr. Andrew Glennie
Program Director
CaRMS lists no email for the directors.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Halifax, Nova Scotia
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −4.1 °C
- July average
- 18.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 215.2 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.9 days a year
People
- Population
- 439,819 people
- Official languages
- English only 87.1% · French only 0.1% · English and French 12.2% · neither 0.6%
- Immigrants
- 11.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 3.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 81.5% · public transit 8.1% · walking or cycling 8.0% · other 2.4%
- Median household income
- $81,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Halifax, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.199
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.6%
- Basic cost of living
- $54,855 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.8%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Very good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage