Halifax - Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery
Dalhousie UniversityHalifax, Nova ScotiaCMG stream
- 2 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery
- 0–50
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 35505
Summary
- Dalhousie's five-year Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery program begins with 1.5 years of Core Surgery.
- PGY-3 to PGY-5 are spent on otolaryngology subspecialties at the Victoria General Hospital, IWK and Dartmouth General Hospital, with a community ENT rotation typically in PGY-3.
- Residents must complete a research project in each year of otolaryngology training.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Regional community
- Sites
9 teaching sites
- QEII Health Sciences Centre (Halifax Infirmary & Victoria General Hospital)
- IWK Health Centre
- Dartmouth General Hospital
Show all 9Show fewer
- Hants Community Hospital
- Saint John, NB
- Fredericton, NB
- Moncton, NB
- Sydney, NS
- Kentville, NS
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- Two-station temporal bone lab with a year-specific dissection curriculum supervised by faculty otologists.
- Required research project in every year of otolaryngology training, presented at a divisional research day.
By year
- PGY-1
- General Surgery
- Otolaryngology
- Emergency
- Thoracic Surgery
- Anesthesia
- Neurosurgery
- Infectious Diseases
- Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery
- PGY-2
- Plastic Surgery
- Intensive Care
- Otolaryngology
- PGY-3
- various subspecialites of Otolaryngology - Head & Neck surgeryentire PGY-3 year
- community ENT rotation
- PGY-4
- various subspecialties of Otolaryngology - Head & Neck Surgeryentire PGY4 year
- Elective rotations2-4 months
- PGY-5
- various subspecialties of Otolaryngology - Head & Neck surgeryentire PGY5 year
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 5 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Info sessions
Info sessions planned, dates not published yet.
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $78,578 / year |
| PGY-2 | $83,904 / year |
| PGY-3 | $89,462 / year |
| PGY-4 | $95,485 / year |
| PGY-5 | $101,926 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- Call stipend
- Yes
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes
- Dental coverage
- Yes
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- Yes
- Frequency of call
- l in 4 in-hospital and for homecall
- Life insurance
- $100,000 of insurance
- Long-term disabilityinsurance
- 66.7% of salary
- Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
- eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.30%
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory and floating holidays
- paid
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 night in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- QEII Health Sciences Centre (Halifax Infirmary & Victoria General Hospital) (Halifax)
- IWK Health Centre (Halifax)
- Dartmouth General Hospital (Dartmouth)
- Hants Community Hospital
- Saint John, NB (Saint John · rural or distributed site)
- Fredericton, NB (Fredericton · rural or distributed site)
- Moncton, NB (Moncton · rural or distributed site)
- Sydney, NS (Sydney · rural or distributed site)
- Kentville, NS (Kentville · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
QEII Health Sciences Centre (Halifax Infirmary & Victoria General Hospital)
QEII - Halifax Infirmary Site (Halifax)
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
QEII - Victoria General (VG) Site (Halifax)
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
IWK Health Centre
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
Dartmouth General Hospital
- Hospital type
- Regional
Show facts for 1 more sitesShow fewer
Hants Community Hospital
- Hospital type
- Community
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Christopher Chin
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Halifax, Nova Scotia
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −4.1 °C
- July average
- 18.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 215.2 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.9 days a year
People
- Population
- 439,819 people
- Official languages
- English only 87.1% · French only 0.1% · English and French 12.2% · neither 0.6%
- Immigrants
- 11.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 3.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 81.5% · public transit 8.1% · walking or cycling 8.0% · other 2.4%
- Median household income
- $81,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Halifax, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.199
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.6%
- Basic cost of living
- $54,855 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.8%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Very good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage