Halifax - Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Dalhousie UniversityHalifax, Nova ScotiaCMG stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- CMG
- Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 35751
Summary
- Dalhousie's five-year PM&R program is based at the Nova Scotia Rehabilitation and Arthritis Centre site of the QEII Health Sciences Centre in Halifax.
- Pediatric rehabilitation is trained at the IWK in Halifax and the Stan Cassidy Rehabilitation Centre in Fredericton, and residents spend about 10 percent of training outside Halifax.
- Residents must complete a research project to the point of presentation at a national or international meeting.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
7 teaching sites
- Nova Scotia Rehabilitation Centre Site, Queen Elizabeth II Health Sciences Centre
- Victoria General Hospital Site, Queen Elizabeth II Health Sciences Centre
- Halifax Infirmary, Queen Elizabeth II Health Sciences Centre
Show all 7Show fewer
- IWK Health Centre
- Stan Cassidy Rehabilitation Centre
- Harbourview Rehabilitation Centre
- Queen Elizabeth Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project
- Highlights
- Required research project must reach presentation at a national or international meeting.
- Base rehabilitation centre has an on-site orthotics and prosthetics department that makes devices in-house.
- Sport medicine training includes field-side clinical opportunities with varsity teams.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (Transition to Discipline · 3-block)
- Medical Teaching Unit (Foundations of Discipline · 3)
- Geriatrics (Foundations of Discipline · 2)
- Infectious Diseases (Foundations of Discipline · 1)
- Neurosurgery (Foundations of Discipline · 1)
- Psychiatry (Foundations of Discipline · 1)
- Rheumatology (Foundations of Discipline · 2)
- Orthopedic Surgery (Foundations of Discipline · 2)
- Neurology (Foundations of Discipline · 2)
- stroke and acquired brain injury rehabilitation (Core of Discipline)
- spinal cord medicine (Core of Discipline)
- neuromuscular rehabilitation and EMG (Core of Discipline)
- musculoskeletal medicine (Core of Discipline)
- rehabilitation of persons with amputations (Core of Discipline)
- pediatric rehabilitation (Core of Discipline)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 18 and 19 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Info sessions
Info sessions planned, dates not published yet.
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $78,578 / year |
| PGY-2 | $83,904 / year |
| PGY-3 | $89,462 / year |
| PGY-4 | $95,485 / year |
| PGY-5 | $101,926 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- Call stipend
- Yes
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes
- Dental coverage
- Yes
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- Yes
- Frequency of call
- l in 4 in-hospital and for homecall
- Life insurance
- $100,000 of insurance
- Long-term disabilityinsurance
- 66.7% of salary
- Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
- eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.30%
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory and floating holidays
- paid
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 night in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Nova Scotia Rehabilitation Centre Site, Queen Elizabeth II Health Sciences Centre (Halifax)
- Victoria General Hospital Site, Queen Elizabeth II Health Sciences Centre (Halifax)
- Halifax Infirmary, Queen Elizabeth II Health Sciences Centre (Halifax)
- IWK Health Centre (Halifax)
- Stan Cassidy Rehabilitation Centre (Fredericton · rural or distributed site)
- Harbourview Rehabilitation Centre (Sydney · rural or distributed site)
- Queen Elizabeth Hospital (Charlottetown · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Nova Scotia Rehabilitation Centre Site, Queen Elizabeth II Health Sciences Centre
- Hospital type
- Rehabilitation
Victoria General Hospital Site, Queen Elizabeth II Health Sciences Centre
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
Halifax Infirmary, Queen Elizabeth II Health Sciences Centre
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
Show facts for 1 more sitesShow fewer
IWK Health Centre
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Kate Montgomery
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Halifax, Nova Scotia
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −4.1 °C
- July average
- 18.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 215.2 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.9 days a year
People
- Population
- 439,819 people
- Official languages
- English only 87.1% · French only 0.1% · English and French 12.2% · neither 0.6%
- Immigrants
- 11.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 3.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 81.5% · public transit 8.1% · walking or cycling 8.0% · other 2.4%
- Median household income
- $81,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Halifax, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.199
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.6%
- Basic cost of living
- $54,855 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.8%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Very good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage