Halifax - Radiation Oncology
Dalhousie UniversityHalifax, Nova ScotiaCMG stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- CMG
- Radiation Oncology
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 35588
Summary
- Dalhousie's Radiation Oncology residency is a 5-year program based at the Nova Scotia Cancer Centre in Halifax.
- Residents also complete rotations in Saint John, New Brunswick, which fulfil the community rotation requirement.
- At least one research project is mandatory, with protected research time, and call is taken from home.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
4 teaching sites
- Nova Scotia Cancer Centre (NSCC)
- Queen Elizabeth II (QEII) Health Sciences Centre
- Izaak Walton Killam-Grace (IWK) Health Centre
Show all 4Show fewer
- Saint John Regional Hospital (SJRH)
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Small program
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Call
- Home call
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Highlights
- Senior residents run a longitudinal clinic, following patients before, during and after treatment.
- Ethos units with HyperSight imaging used for adaptive radiotherapy.
- A dedicated OMSC rotation eases residents' return to radiation oncology after off-service rotations.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Radiation Oncology service (Transition to Discipline · Two four-week block rotations · Halifax)
- Thoracic Surgery (Foundation of Discipline)
- Gynecologic Oncology (Foundation of Discipline)
- Palliative Medicine (Foundation of Discipline)
- Neurology (Foundation of Discipline)
- Infectious Diseases (Foundation of Discipline)
- Emergency (Foundation of Discipline)
- Hematology (Foundation of Discipline)
- Medical Oncology (Foundation of Discipline)
- combined surgical rotation in Otolaryngology, Urology, Neurosurgery and Pathology (Foundation of Discipline · 8 weeks)
- Diagnostic Imaging (Foundation of Discipline · 2 weeks)
- Geriatrics (Foundation of Discipline · 2 weeks)
- On treatment Management, Simulation and Contouring (OMSC) (Foundation of Discipline)
- Resident longitudinal clinic (RLC) (Core of Discipline)
- rotations in Saint John (Core of Discipline · Saint John, New Brunswick)
- treatment planning (Core of Discipline · One block)
- elective (Core of Discipline · Four blocks)
- Quality Improvement and Patient Safety (Core of Discipline · One block)
- combined clinical and research rotation (two-block)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 18 Jan 2027
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $78,578 / year |
| PGY-2 | $83,904 / year |
| PGY-3 | $89,462 / year |
| PGY-4 | $95,485 / year |
| PGY-5 | $101,926 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- Call stipend
- Yes
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes
- Dental coverage
- Yes
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- Yes
- Frequency of call
- l in 4 in-hospital and for homecall
- Life insurance
- $100,000 of insurance
- Long-term disabilityinsurance
- 66.7% of salary
- Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
- eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.30%
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory and floating holidays
- paid
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 night in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Nova Scotia Cancer Centre (NSCC) (Halifax)
- Queen Elizabeth II (QEII) Health Sciences Centre (Halifax)
- Izaak Walton Killam-Grace (IWK) Health Centre (Halifax)
- Saint John Regional Hospital (SJRH) (Saint John · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Queen Elizabeth II (QEII) Health Sciences Centre
QEII - Halifax Infirmary Site (Halifax)
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
QEII - Victoria General (VG) Site (Halifax)
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
Izaak Walton Killam-Grace (IWK) Health Centre
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
Saint John Regional Hospital (SJRH)
- Inpatient beds
- 445
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Lara Best
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
Location
Halifax, Nova Scotia
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −4.1 °C
- July average
- 18.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 215.2 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.9 days a year
People
- Population
- 439,819 people
- Official languages
- English only 87.1% · French only 0.1% · English and French 12.2% · neither 0.6%
- Immigrants
- 11.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 3.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 81.5% · public transit 8.1% · walking or cycling 8.0% · other 2.4%
- Median household income
- $81,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Halifax, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.199
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.6%
- Basic cost of living
- $54,855 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.8%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Very good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage