Halifax - Urology
Dalhousie UniversityHalifax, Nova ScotiaCMG stream
- 2 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Urology
- 0–50
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 35506
Summary
- Dalhousie Urology is a five-year residency based at the QEII Health Sciences Centre and IWK Health Centre in Halifax.
- Residents typically complete a 3-month community urology rotation in PGY-3, with community sites in New Brunswick, and housing is arranged by the PGME office.
- Clinical research is required, with a one-month research block in PGY-2.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
11 teaching sites
- QEII Health Sciences Centre
- Victoria General Hospital
- Halifax Infirmary
Show all 11Show fewer
- IWK Health Centre
- Cobequid Community Health Centre
- Dartmouth General Hospital
- Hants Community Hospital
- Bayers Lake Outpatient Care Centre
- Saint John Regional Hospital
- Fredericton Hospital
- Moncton Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Call
- frequency “1-in-4”
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Highlights
- Faculty-to-resident ratio usually close to 1:1.
- About 6-8 skills labs per year, including cadaver-based open and laparoscopic surgical training.
By year
- PGY-1
- urology8 months
- off-service general surgery
- pediatric general surgery
- emergency medicine
- PGY-2
- general surgery2 months
- surgical intensive care unit2 months
- inpatient and ambulatory urologysix month
- vascular surgeryone month
- researchone month
- PGY-3
- community urology rotation3-month
- pediatric urology
- PGY-4
- elective in Urologytwo or three month
- urologic oncology rotationone month
- PGY-5
- pediatric urology
- transplantation
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $78,578 / year |
| PGY-2 | $83,904 / year |
| PGY-3 | $89,462 / year |
| PGY-4 | $95,485 / year |
| PGY-5 | $101,926 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- Call stipend
- Yes
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes
- Dental coverage
- Yes
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- Yes
- Frequency of call
- l in 4 in-hospital and for homecall
- Life insurance
- $100,000 of insurance
- Long-term disabilityinsurance
- 66.7% of salary
- Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
- eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.30%
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory and floating holidays
- paid
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 night in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- QEII Health Sciences Centre (Halifax)
- Victoria General Hospital (Halifax)
- Halifax Infirmary (Halifax)
- IWK Health Centre (Halifax)
- Cobequid Community Health Centre
- Dartmouth General Hospital (Dartmouth)
- Hants Community Hospital
- Bayers Lake Outpatient Care Centre (Halifax)
- Saint John Regional Hospital (Saint John · rural or distributed site)
- Fredericton Hospital (Fredericton · rural or distributed site)
- Moncton Hospital (Moncton · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
QEII Health Sciences Centre
QEII - Halifax Infirmary Site (Halifax)
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
QEII - Victoria General (VG) Site (Halifax)
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
Victoria General Hospital
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
Halifax Infirmary
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
Show facts for 7 more sitesShow fewer
IWK Health Centre
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
Cobequid Community Health Centre
- Hospital type
- Community Health Centre
Dartmouth General Hospital
- Hospital type
- Regional
Hants Community Hospital
- Hospital type
- Community
Saint John Regional Hospital
- Inpatient beds
- 445
Fredericton Hospital
- Inpatient beds
- 314
Moncton Hospital
- Inpatient beds
- 381
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Andrea Lantz Powers
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Halifax, Nova Scotia
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −4.1 °C
- July average
- 18.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 215.2 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.9 days a year
People
- Population
- 439,819 people
- Official languages
- English only 87.1% · French only 0.1% · English and French 12.2% · neither 0.6%
- Immigrants
- 11.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 3.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 81.5% · public transit 8.1% · walking or cycling 8.0% · other 2.4%
- Median household income
- $81,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Halifax, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.199
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.6%
- Basic cost of living
- $54,855 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.8%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Very good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage