Hamilton - Emergency Medicine
McMaster UniversityHamilton, OntarioCMG stream
- 8 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Emergency Medicine
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 35894
Summary
- McMaster's five-year Royal College Emergency Medicine program trains residents at Hamilton General, St. Joseph's, Juravinski and McMaster Children's hospitals.
- PGY 3 includes community emergency medicine, adult critical care, trauma and three selective blocks.
- Residents must complete at least one academic project suitable for peer review, and PGY 5 includes a resident-designed Area of Focused Competence.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
9 teaching sites
- Hamilton General Hospital
- St. Joseph’s Healthcare Hamilton
- Juravinski Hospital
Show all 9Show fewer
- McMaster Children's Hospital
- Brampton Civic Hospital
- Trillium Health Partners
- St. Catherine’s General Hospital
- Grand River Hospital
- St. Mary’s Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- POCUS curriculum
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- Biennial mock Disaster Day simulating a disaster while residents run a busy emergency department.
- Biennial critical care day practising procedures in the anatomy lab.
By year
- PGY-1
- research seminar series2-month
- Emergency Medicine
- Pediatric Emergency Medicine
- Internal Medicine
- General Surgery
- Anesthesia
- Obstetrics and Gynecology
- PGY-2
- POCUS Scanning Block2-4 week
- Emergency Medicine
- EMS Curriculum
- Cardiac Critical Care
- Pediatrics ICU
- PGY-3
- selective blocks3 selective blocks
- Community Emergency Medicine
- Critical Care (adult)
- Trauma
- PGY-4
- Emergency Medicineminimum of 10 Blocks
- Pediatric Emergency Medicine2 Blocks
- PGY-5
- Transition to Practice6 months
- Area of Focused Competence6 months
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 20 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Info sessions
Tue 19 Jan 2027time not stated
Social · Virtual · Listed under interviews on CaRMS
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Hamilton General Hospital (Hamilton)
- St. Joseph’s Healthcare Hamilton (Hamilton)
- Juravinski Hospital (Hamilton)
- McMaster Children's Hospital (Hamilton)
- Brampton Civic Hospital
- Trillium Health Partners
- St. Catherine’s General Hospital
- Grand River Hospital
- St. Mary’s Hospital
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Ms. Teresa Vallera
Program Manager
Program directors
Dr. Caillin Langmann
Program Director
Dr. Spencer Sample
Assistant Program Director EM
Dr. Dean Vlahaki
Assistant Program Director EM
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Hamilton, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.1 °C
- July average
- 21.9 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.7 days a year
People
- Population
- 569,353 people
- Official languages
- English only 92.3% · French only 0.1% · English and French 5.8% · neither 1.9%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.4% · public transit 7.4% · walking or cycling 5.2% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $86,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Hamilton, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.066
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.5%
- Basic cost of living
- $59,504 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage