Hamilton - Family Medicine - Care of the Elderly
McMaster UniversityHamilton, OntarioCompetitive stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- 1 year
- Competitive
- Family Medicine - Care of the Elderly
- 0–50
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 34673
Summary
- This is a 12-month Care of the Elderly program with its primary practice setting in the Hamilton area.
- Training includes inpatient and outpatient geriatric consultations, palliative care, geriatric psychiatry and clinical pharmacology, plus longitudinal family medicine clinics, long-term care and wound care.
- Three academic blocks include a scholarly component of 2-3 days a week.
Training
- Sites
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- family_practice_continuity
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Highlights
- Horizontal wound care experience of 1.5-2 days during the academic block.
- Two blocks on hospital-based medically complex, restorative care and behavioural health units led by Family Medicine faculty.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Medically Complex/Restorative Care/Behavioural Health Unit (2)
- Inpatient consultations (1)
- Outpatient consultations (2)
- Geriatric psychiatry (1)
- Palliative Care (1)
- Clinical pharmacology (1)
- Electives (2)
- Academic block (3)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Required · IMGs only
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- 28 Oct 2026
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
Not stated on CaRMS page
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program director
Dr. Henry Siu
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Other contacts
Connie Shen
Senior Education Associate
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
Links the program published on CaRMS
Location
Hamilton, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.1 °C
- July average
- 21.9 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.7 days a year
People
- Population
- 569,353 people
- Official languages
- English only 92.3% · French only 0.1% · English and French 5.8% · neither 1.9%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.4% · public transit 7.4% · walking or cycling 5.2% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $86,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Hamilton, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.066
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.5%
- Basic cost of living
- $59,504 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%