Hamilton - Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine
McMaster UniversityHamilton, OntarioCompetitive stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- 1 year
- Competitive
- Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine
- 51–200
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 34572
Summary
- This one-year program trains family medicine graduates in emergency medicine and prepares them for the CFPC Examination of Added Competence in Emergency Medicine.
- Residents are based in Hamilton, Kitchener-Waterloo or Niagara, and all train partly in Hamilton.
- The year includes four emergency medicine blocks, a POCUS block leading to CPOCUS certification, and a required research project.
Training
- Setting
- Mixed settings
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
10 teaching sites
- Hamilton General Hospital
- Juravinski Hospital
- St. Joseph’s Healthcare Hamilton
Show all 10Show fewer
- McMaster Children’s Hospital
- WRHN at Midtown
- WRHN at Queen's Boulevard
- Guelph General Hospital
- St. Catharines Site
- Greater Niagara General Site
- Brantford General Hospital
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- POCUS curriculum
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project
- Highlights
- Ultrasound boot camp culminating in CPOCUS certification, followed by a dedicated scanning block.
- Clinical skills sessions include cadaver-based anatomy labs, airway management and central line workshops.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Emergency Medicine (4 blocks)
- Emergency Paediatrics (1 block · McMaster Children's Hospital)
- Point of Care Ultrasound (1 block)
- Trauma/Acute Care Surgery (1 block)
- ICU (2 blocks)
- CCU (1 block)
- Emergency Medicine Community Selective (1 block)
- Anesthesia (1 block)
- Plastics/Orthopaedics (1 block)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Required · IMGs only
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- 16 Nov 2026
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Hamilton General Hospital (Hamilton)
- Juravinski Hospital (Hamilton)
- St. Joseph’s Healthcare Hamilton (Hamilton)
- McMaster Children’s Hospital (Hamilton)
- WRHN at Midtown (Kitchener · rural or distributed site)
- WRHN at Queen's Boulevard (Kitchener · rural or distributed site)
- Guelph General Hospital (Guelph · rural or distributed site)
- St. Catharines Site (St. Catherines · rural or distributed site)
- Greater Niagara General Site (Niagara Falls · rural or distributed site)
- Brantford General Hospital (Brantford · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Alexandra Mitcham
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
Links the program published on CaRMS
Location
Hamilton, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.1 °C
- July average
- 21.9 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.7 days a year
People
- Population
- 569,353 people
- Official languages
- English only 92.3% · French only 0.1% · English and French 5.8% · neither 1.9%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.4% · public transit 7.4% · walking or cycling 5.2% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $86,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Hamilton, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.066
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.5%
- Basic cost of living
- $59,504 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%