Hamilton - Family Medicine - Sport and Exercise Medicine
McMaster UniversityHamilton, OntarioCompetitive stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- 1 year
- Competitive
- Family Medicine - Sport and Exercise Medicine
- 0–50
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 34605
Summary
- McMaster's 12-month PGY-3 Sport and Exercise Medicine program is based in the Burlington/Hamilton area and leads to a CFPC Certificate of Added Competence.
- The sample schedule has SEM blocks in Burlington, Hamilton and Niagara, plus an academic project block, pediatric SEM, orthopedics and sport psychiatry.
- Residents are expected to cover events and fields for some McMaster varsity athletics.
Training
- Setting
- Urban community
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
2 teaching sites
- Hamilton David Braley Center
- McMaster University Medical Centre
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Highlights
- Dedicated sport psychiatry block in the sample schedule.
- Required event and field coverage of McMaster University varsity athletics.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Sport and Exercise Medicine (Block 1 · Burlington)
- Sport and Exercise Medicine (Block 2 · Burlington)
- Sport and Exercise Medicine (Block 3 · Hamilton David Braley Center)
- Sport and Exercise Medicine (Block 4 · Hamilton David Braley Center)
- Sport and Exercise Medicine (Block 5 · Niagara)
- Sport and Exercise Medicine (Block 6 · Niagara)
- Academic Project (Block 7 · Burlington)
- Pediatric Sport and Exercise Medicine (Block 8 · Hamilton)
- Orthopedics (Block 9 · McMaster University Medical Centre)
- Sport Psychiatry (Block 10 · Hamilton)
- Sport and Exercise Medicine (Block 11 · Niagara)
- Sport and Exercise Medicine (Block 12 · Burlington)
- Sport and Exercise Medicine (Block 13 · Burlington)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Required · IMGs only
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- 26 Oct 2026
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Hamilton David Braley Center (Hamilton)
- McMaster University Medical Centre (Hamilton)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program director
Dr. Wade Elliott
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Other contacts
Brittney Bowen
Senior Education Associate
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
Links the program published on CaRMS
Location
Hamilton, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.1 °C
- July average
- 21.9 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.7 days a year
People
- Population
- 569,353 people
- Official languages
- English only 92.3% · French only 0.1% · English and French 5.8% · neither 1.9%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.4% · public transit 7.4% · walking or cycling 5.2% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $86,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Hamilton, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.066
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.5%
- Basic cost of living
- $59,504 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%