Hamilton - Medical Microbiology
McMaster UniversityHamilton, OntarioCMG stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- CMG
- Medical Microbiology
- 51–200
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 36464
Summary
- McMaster's Medical Microbiology program is a 5-year direct-entry residency with clinical Infectious Diseases training integrated throughout.
- Training occurs at Hamilton General Hospital and St Joseph's Hospital - Charlton Campus, with community laboratory rotations at LifeLabs and reference services at Public Health Ontario.
- Residents are required to carry out a series of research projects.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Public health agency
- Sites
4 teaching sites
- Hamilton General Hospital
- St Joseph's Hospital - Charlton Campus
- LifeLabs
Show all 4Show fewer
- Public Health Ontario
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project
- Highlights
- PGY-5 includes Junior Attending blocks in microbiology and clinical infectious diseases.
- Every resident gets a turn as Chief Resident, including building the microbiology call schedule.
- Recently added rotations include pediatric microbiology, assay design in molecular microbiology, and bioinformatics.
By year
- PGY-1
- General Internal Medicine4 blocks
- Bacteriology2 block
- ICU2 blocks
- Infectious Diseases2 blocks
- Virology/Molecular Microbiology1 block
- Emergency Medicine1 block
- General Pediatrics1 block
- PGY-5
- Junior Attending blocks in microbiology and clinical infectious diseases
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 22 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Hamilton General Hospital (Hamilton)
- St Joseph's Hospital - Charlton Campus (Hamilton)
- LifeLabs
- Public Health Ontario
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 2 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 1 of 9 years.
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2019, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 1 position open after round 2 in 2019, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 |
| 2024 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 |
| 2026 | 0 | 0 |
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Brody Duncan
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Hamilton, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.1 °C
- July average
- 21.9 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.7 days a year
People
- Population
- 569,353 people
- Official languages
- English only 92.3% · French only 0.1% · English and French 5.8% · neither 1.9%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.4% · public transit 7.4% · walking or cycling 5.2% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $86,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Hamilton, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.066
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.5%
- Basic cost of living
- $59,504 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage