Hamilton - Neurology
McMaster UniversityHamilton, OntarioCMG stream
From the 2026 match (R-1 2026). See the 2027 version
- 4 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Neurology
- 51–200
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 29741
Summary
McMaster University's Neurology Residency Program is a comprehensive 5-year training program designed to produce highly competent neurologists. The program offers a rich clinical experience across multiple hospitals, with a strong emphasis on research, educational methodology, and developing well-rounded physicians who can effectively diagnose and manage neurological diseases.
Training
- Research
- Research is mandatory, with each resident assigned a mentor to guide them towards research opportunities and initiatives.
- Training setting
- Training occurs across multiple urban hospital sites in Hamilton, Ontario, including Hamilton General Hospital, Juravinski Hospital, McMaster University Medical Centre, and St. Joseph's Hospital, providing diverse clinical experiences.
- Teaching approach
- The program follows a Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) approach, emphasizing progressive independence, comprehensive skill development, and a supportive, collegial learning environment.
- Setting types
- Academic medical center
- Tertiary care center
- Community hospital
- Focus areas
- Stroke Neurology
- Neuro-oncology
- Movement Disorders
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Epilepsy
- Neuromuscular Disease
- Behavioral Neurology
- Neurogenetics
- ALS
- Headache Medicine
- Patient populations
- Stroke patients
- Oncology patients
- Neuromuscular disease patients
- Multiple sclerosis patients
- Movement disorder patients
- Epilepsy patients
- ALS patients
- Behavioral neurology patients
- Highlights
- Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) curriculum
- Daily educational rounds
- Weekly academic half day
- Research mentorship
- Yearly practice examinations
- Witnessed history and physical exam opportunities
- Strengths
- Comprehensive clinical training across multiple sites
- Strong research opportunities
- Diverse specialty clinics
- Supportive educational environment
- Excellent basic science and clinical research infrastructure
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Selection
- What the program looks at
- CV
- Electives
- Extra-curricular activities
- Leadership skills
- Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
- Personal letter
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (2026 match)
- 20 and 21 Jan 2026
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Hamilton General Hospital
- Juravinski Hospital
- McMaster University Medical Centre
- St. Joseph's Hospital
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 2 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 |
| 2020 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2020, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 |
| 2024 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 |
| 2026 | 0 | 0 |
Contacts
Contacts weren't collected for the 2026 match.
The current program director and contacts are on the 2027 version of this program and on the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab).
Location
Hamilton, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.1 °C
- July average
- 21.9 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.7 days a year
People
- Population
- 569,353 people
- Official languages
- English only 92.3% · French only 0.1% · English and French 5.8% · neither 1.9%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.4% · public transit 7.4% · walking or cycling 5.2% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $86,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Hamilton, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.066
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.5%
- Basic cost of living
- $59,504 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage