Hamilton - Neurosurgery
McMaster UniversityHamilton, OntarioCMG stream
- 2 positions
- 6 years
- CMG
- Neurosurgery
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 36115
Summary
- McMaster's neurosurgery residency is a 6-year program based at Hamilton Health Sciences and St. Joseph's Healthcare Hamilton.
- PGY1-2 are core surgery training through Surgical Foundations, and PGY3 includes three months of pediatric neurosurgery.
- PGY4 can be used for research, a Master's degree or the Clinician Investigator Program, and a functional neurosurgery rotation is supported through Western University.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
5 teaching sites
- Hamilton General Hospital
- McMaster Children's Hospital
- Juravinski Hospital
Show all 5Show fewer
- St. Joseph’s Hospital
- Western University
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Offered · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- Dedicated interventional neuroradiology rotation for advanced INR exposure.
- Hands-on cadaveric anatomy and surgical approach sessions built into the academic half day.
By year
- PGY-3
- pediatric neurosurgerythree-month period
- PGY-5
- pediatric neurosurgerythree blocks
Other rotations
- General Surgery (PGY 1 & 2)
- ICU (PGY 1 & 2)
- Interventional Neuroradiology (INR) Rotations
- functional neurosurgery rotation (Western University in London, Ontario)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 18 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- MMI or rotating station
Info sessions
Sun 17 Jan 2027time not stated
Social · Virtual · Listed under interviews on CaRMS
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
| PGY-6 | $104,167 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Hamilton General Hospital (Hamilton)
- McMaster Children's Hospital (Hamilton)
- Juravinski Hospital (Hamilton)
- St. Joseph’s Hospital (Hamilton)
- Western University (London)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Blake Yarascavitch
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Hamilton, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.1 °C
- July average
- 21.9 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.7 days a year
People
- Population
- 569,353 people
- Official languages
- English only 92.3% · French only 0.1% · English and French 5.8% · neither 1.9%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.4% · public transit 7.4% · walking or cycling 5.2% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $86,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Hamilton, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.066
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.5%
- Basic cost of living
- $59,504 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage