Hamilton - Obstetrics and Gynecology
McMaster UniversityHamilton, OntarioCMG stream
- 8 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Obstetrics and Gynecology
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 36403
Summary
- McMaster's five-year Obstetrics and Gynecology residency trains at Hamilton hospitals and at community hospitals in surrounding communities.
- PGY-2 includes 11 core blocks split between McMaster, St. Joseph's, and Kitchener-Waterloo or St. Catharines for community exposure.
- Each resident must complete one research project and one quality improvement initiative.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
11 teaching sites
- McMaster University Medical Centre
- St Joseph’s Healthcare Hamilton
- Juravinski Hospital
Show all 11Show fewer
- St. Joseph's Hospital Center for Minimal Access Surgery
- Brantford General Hospital
- Oakville Hospital
- Joseph Brant Hospital
- Grand River Hospital
- Guelph General Hospital
- Niagara Health Services – St Catharine’s
- Humber River Hospital
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Procedural emphasis
- Small program
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Call
- In-house and home call
- Getting around
- A car is recommended
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Travel is reimbursed
- Highlights
- Four resident laparoscopy workshops per year at a Minimal Access Surgery centre and an animal lab.
- Residents can achieve colposcopy certification during the colposcopy rotation.
By year
- PGY-1
- Obstetrics & GynecologyThree four-week blocks
- Internal Medicine (CTU and Obstetrical Medicine)Two four-week blocks
- ICUTwo four-week blocks
- General SurgeryTwo four-week blocks
- Ambulatory/Women's Health Concerns ClinicsOne four-week block
- AnesthesiaOne four-week block
- Pediatrics (Pediatric Surgery and NICU)One four-week block
- Emergency MedicineOne four-week block
- PGY-2
- Junior Gynecologic Oncologytwo blocks
Other rotations
- Ultrasound and Prenatal Diagnosis (PGY-3/PGY-4)
- Maternal Fetal Medicine (PGY-3/PGY-4 · 3 Four Week Blocks · McMaster University Medical Centre)
- Reproductive Endocrinology/Infertility (PGY-3/PGY-4 · 3 Four Week Blocks)
- Gynecologic Oncology (PGY-3/PGY-4 · 3 Four Week Blocks · Juravinski Hospital)
- Urogynecology (PGY-3/PGY-4 · 3 Four Week Blocks)
- Colposcopy (PGY-3/PGY-4 · 2-3 Four Week Blocks)
- Laparoscopy (PGY-3/PGY-4 · 1 or 2 - Four Week Blocks)
- Senior Gynecology Ambulatory Block (PGY-3/PGY-4 · 1 Four Week Block)
- Elective (PGY-3/PGY-4 · 6-9 Four Week Blocks)
- Chief Resident (PGY-4 and 5)
- Senior Gyne rotation (PGY-4 and 5 · Kitchener-Waterloo region)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 25 and 26 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- McMaster University Medical Centre (Hamilton)
- St Joseph’s Healthcare Hamilton (Hamilton)
- Juravinski Hospital (Hamilton)
- St. Joseph's Hospital Center for Minimal Access Surgery (Hamilton)
- Brantford General Hospital (Brantford · rural or distributed site)
- Oakville Hospital (Oakville · rural or distributed site)
- Joseph Brant Hospital (rural or distributed site)
- Grand River Hospital (Waterloo region · rural or distributed site)
- Guelph General Hospital (Guelph · rural or distributed site)
- Niagara Health Services – St Catharine’s (St. Catharines · rural or distributed site)
- Humber River Hospital (rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
“Please email the general mailbox for all information” · the program’s note on CaRMS
Program director
Dr. Sapna Sharma
Program Director
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Hamilton, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.1 °C
- July average
- 21.9 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.7 days a year
People
- Population
- 569,353 people
- Official languages
- English only 92.3% · French only 0.1% · English and French 5.8% · neither 1.9%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.4% · public transit 7.4% · walking or cycling 5.2% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $86,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Hamilton, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.066
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.5%
- Basic cost of living
- $59,504 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage