Hamilton - Ophthalmology
McMaster UniversityHamilton, OntarioCMG stream
- 2 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Ophthalmology
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 35376
Summary
- McMaster's ophthalmology residency is a 5-year program based mainly at the Hamilton Regional Eye Institute and McMaster University Medical Center in Hamilton.
- Additional training takes place at hospitals in Oakville and Brampton, and the curriculum includes community and international experiences.
- Residents must complete at least one prospective research project and have dedicated research time in each rotation.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
8 teaching sites
- Hamilton Regional Eye Institute
- St. Joseph's Healthcare Hamilton
- Centre for Ambulatory Health Services
Show all 8Show fewer
- McMaster University Medical Center
- Hamilton Health Sciences
- McMaster Children’s Hospital
- Trillium Partners
- William Osler Hospitals
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- International ophthalmology experience is part of the curriculum, through McMaster Ophthalmology International partnerships.
- Dedicated research time is built into each rotation.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- ophthalmology blocks (Transition to Discipline · 2 ophthalmology blocks)
- off-service blocks (Foundations of Discipline · 7 off-service blocks)
- Emergency Eye Clinic (Foundations of Discipline)
- Toronto Ophthalmology Residents' Introductory Course (Foundations of Discipline · 6 week)
- Emergency Eye Clinic (Core of Discipline)
- Subspecialty ophthalmology (Core of Discipline)
- Surgical blocks (Core of Discipline)
- elective blocks (Core of Discipline · 3 elective blocks)
- community ophthalmology (Core of Discipline)
- Emergency Eye Clinic (Transition to Practice)
- Subspecialty ophthalmology (Transition to Practice)
- Surgical blocks (Transition to Practice)
- elective blocks (Transition to Practice · 2 elective blocks)
- community ophthalmology (Transition to Practice)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 2 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
- MMI or rotating station
Info sessions
Tue 3 Nov 20266:30 pm EST
Info session · Virtual
Link for McMaster University, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Tue 8 Dec 20266:30 pm EST
Info session · Virtual · For all applicants
Link for McMaster University, Tue 8 Dec 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Hamilton Regional Eye Institute (Hamilton)
- St. Joseph's Healthcare Hamilton (Hamilton)
- Centre for Ambulatory Health Services (Hamilton)
- McMaster University Medical Center (Hamilton)
- Hamilton Health Sciences (Hamilton)
- McMaster Children’s Hospital (Hamilton)
- Trillium Partners (Oakville)
- William Osler Hospitals (Brampton)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Mark Fava
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Hamilton, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.1 °C
- July average
- 21.9 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.7 days a year
People
- Population
- 569,353 people
- Official languages
- English only 92.3% · French only 0.1% · English and French 5.8% · neither 1.9%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.4% · public transit 7.4% · walking or cycling 5.2% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $86,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Hamilton, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.066
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.5%
- Basic cost of living
- $59,504 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage