Hamilton - Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery
McMaster UniversityHamilton, OntarioCMG stream
- 3 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery
- 51–200
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 35366
Summary
- McMaster's Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery program is a five-year program with two funded residents per year, beginning with two years of Surgical Foundations training.
- Training takes place at Hamilton Health Sciences and St. Joseph's Healthcare, with community affiliated sites in Cambridge and Guelph.
- All residents must participate in clinical or basic science research, and one month of PGY3 elective time must be spent in the community.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
6 teaching sites
- St. Joseph's Healthcare Hamilton
- Juravinsinki Cancer Center
- Hamilton General Hospital
Show all 6Show fewer
- McMaster Hospital
- Cambridge Hospital
- Guelph Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project
- Highlights
- Resident-driven COCLIA curriculum sessions covering over 100 major otolaryngology topics for PGY3-5 residents.
- Junior residents are matched to a short-term and a long-term research project when they start.
By year
- PGY-2
- on-servicethe entire year
- PGY-3
- elective/community rotations2 months
- PGY-4
- optional elective rotationone-month
Other rotations
- boot camp with SF (Surgical Foundations · two weeks)
- on-service (Transition to Discipline · six weeks)
- on-service (Foundations of Discipline · three blocks)
- off-service (Foundations of Discipline · eight blocks)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- St. Joseph's Healthcare Hamilton (Hamilton)
- Juravinsinki Cancer Center (Hamilton)
- Hamilton General Hospital (Hamilton)
- McMaster Hospital (Hamilton)
- Cambridge Hospital (Cambridge)
- Guelph Hospital (Guelph)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Han Zhang
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Hamilton, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.1 °C
- July average
- 21.9 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.7 days a year
People
- Population
- 569,353 people
- Official languages
- English only 92.3% · French only 0.1% · English and French 5.8% · neither 1.9%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.4% · public transit 7.4% · walking or cycling 5.2% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $86,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Hamilton, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.066
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.5%
- Basic cost of living
- $59,504 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage