Hamilton - Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
McMaster UniversityHamilton, OntarioCMG stream
- 3 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
- 0–50
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 35404
Summary
- McMaster's Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation residency is a 5-year competence-by-design program based mainly at the Regional Rehabilitation Centre of Hamilton Health Sciences.
- Rotations include oncology and pediatric rehabilitation, and a research project is mandatory, with three blocks available for research.
- Interviews are held virtually on January 27, 2027.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
6 teaching sites
- Regional Rehabilitation Centre
- McMaster University Medical Centre
- Hamilton General Hospital
Show all 6Show fewer
- Juravinski Hospital
- St. Joseph's Hospital
- St. Joseph's Mountain Site
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- Dedicated oncology and pediatric rehabilitation clinical rotations.
- Program describes itself as one of the largest physiatry residencies in Canada.
- Concurrent Health Research Methodology master's study is supported.
By year
- PGY-1
- CTU3 blocks
- Orthopedic Surgery2 blocks
- Rheumatology2 blocks
- PM&R Intro Rotation1 block
- MSK Rehab1 block
- Sports Medicine1 block
- Chronic Pain1 block
- Medicine Selective1 block
- Surgical Selective1 block
- PGY-2
- Neurology2 blocks
- Stroke Rehab2 blocks
- ABI Rehab2 blocks
- P&O2 blocks
- Stroke2 blocks
- EMG2 blocks
- MSK Rehab2 blocks
- Geriatrics1 block
- Elective1 block
- PGY-3
- Senior Rotation4 blocks
- Pediatric Rehab3 blocks
- Stroke Rehab2 blocks
- ABI Rehab2 blocks
- P&O2 blocks
- SCI Rehab2 blocks
- EMG2 blocks
- MSK Rehab2 blocks
- Elective2 blocks
- Cardiac Rehab1 block
- PGY-4
- Elective7 blocks
- Junior Attending (Inpts)5 blocks
- Neuromuscular1 block
- PGY-5
- Elective6 - 12 blocks
- EMG1 block
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 27 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Info sessions
Info sessions planned, dates not published yet.
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Regional Rehabilitation Centre (Hamilton)
- McMaster University Medical Centre (Hamilton)
- Hamilton General Hospital (Hamilton)
- Juravinski Hospital (Hamilton)
- St. Joseph's Hospital (Hamilton)
- St. Joseph's Mountain Site (Hamilton)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Simran Basi
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Other contacts
Colm Vance / Patrick Yao
Chief Residents
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Hamilton, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.1 °C
- July average
- 21.9 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.7 days a year
People
- Population
- 569,353 people
- Official languages
- English only 92.3% · French only 0.1% · English and French 5.8% · neither 1.9%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.4% · public transit 7.4% · walking or cycling 5.2% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $86,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Hamilton, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.066
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.5%
- Basic cost of living
- $59,504 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage