Hamilton - Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
McMaster UniversityHamilton, OntarioIMG stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- IMG
- Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
- 0–50
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 35657
Summary
- McMaster's Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation residency is a 5-year program based mainly at the Regional Rehabilitation Centre of Hamilton Health Sciences.
- Training includes oncology and pediatric rehabilitation rotations, and residents spend PGY-4 inpatient blocks as junior attendings.
- A research project is mandatory, with three blocks available for research.
- Interviews are virtual, and IMG applicants must complete an Ontario return-of-service commitment.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
6 teaching sites
- Regional Rehabilitation Centre
- McMaster University Medical Centre
- Hamilton General Hospital
Show all 6Show fewer
- Juravinski Hospital
- St. Joseph's Hospital
- St. Joseph's Mountain Site
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- Concurrent study in McMaster's Health Research Methodology Masters program is strongly supported.
- Describes itself as one of the largest physiatry residency programs in Canada.
By year
- PGY-1
- PM&R Intro Rotation1
- MSK Rehab1
- CTU3
- Sports Medicine1
- Chronic Pain1
- Medicine Selective1
- Surgical Selective1
- Orthopedic Surgery2
- Rheumatology2
- PGY-2
- Geriatrics1
- Neurology2
- Elective1
- Stroke Rehab2
- ABI Rehab2
- P&O2
- Stroke2
- EMG2
- MSK Rehab2
- PGY-3
- Stroke Rehab2
- ABI Rehab2
- P&O2
- SCI Rehab2
- EMG2
- MSK Rehab2
- Cardiac Rehab1
- ABI Rehab1
- P&O1
- Stroke Rehab1
- SCI Rehab1
- Pediatric Rehab3
- Elective2
- PGY-4
- ABI Rehab1
- P&O1
- SCI Rehab1
- MSK Rehab1
- Stroke Rehab1
- Elective7
- Neuromuscular1
- PGY-5
- EMG1
- Elective6 - 12
- Community rotation
- Junior attending block
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Required · IMGs only
- IMG requirements
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 20 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Info sessions
Info sessions planned, dates not published yet.
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Regional Rehabilitation Centre (Hamilton)
- McMaster University Medical Centre (Hamilton)
- Hamilton General Hospital (Hamilton)
- Juravinski Hospital (Hamilton)
- St. Joseph's Hospital (Hamilton)
- St. Joseph's Mountain Site (Hamilton)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Simran Basi
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Other contacts
Colm Vance / Patrick Yao
Chief Residents
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Hamilton, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.1 °C
- July average
- 21.9 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.7 days a year
People
- Population
- 569,353 people
- Official languages
- English only 92.3% · French only 0.1% · English and French 5.8% · neither 1.9%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.4% · public transit 7.4% · walking or cycling 5.2% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $86,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Hamilton, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.066
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.5%
- Basic cost of living
- $59,504 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage