Hamilton - Plastic Surgery
McMaster UniversityHamilton, OntarioCMG stream
- 3 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Plastic Surgery
- 51–200
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 36015
Summary
- McMaster Plastic Surgery is a 5-year program established in 1978, training at Hamilton Health Sciences sites and St. Joseph's Hospital.
- Residents rotate through the provincial burn program in their second year and learn microsurgery in a live animal model in PGY3.
- Residents are expected to prepare a manuscript for a peer-reviewed journal and present at a national meeting.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
5 teaching sites
- Hamilton General Hospital
- Juravinski Hospital
- McMaster University Medical Centre
Show all 5Show fewer
- St. Joseph's Hospital
- Oakville Trafalgar Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Early independence
- Research
- Required · research project
- Highlights
- Provincial burn program serving the entire province, with PGY2 burn rotation.
- Microsurgical skills taught early in a live animal model.
- 1:1 resident-to-faculty ratio in senior years.
By year
- PGY-1
- Plastic Surgery
- PGY-2
- General Pediatric Surgery
- Pediatric Plastic Surgery
- ICU
- Burns
- Otolaryngology
- PGY-5
- Community
- cosmetic
Other rotations
- General Surgery (PGY-1 & 2)
- Dermatology (PGY-1 & 2)
- Vascular Surgery (PGY-1 & 2)
- Perioperative Medicine (PGY-1 & 2)
- Rehabilitation Medicine (PGY-1 & 2)
- Anaesthesia (PGY-1 & 2)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 18 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Hamilton General Hospital (Hamilton)
- Juravinski Hospital (Hamilton)
- McMaster University Medical Centre (Hamilton)
- St. Joseph's Hospital (Hamilton)
- Oakville Trafalgar Hospital (Oakville)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Arianna Dal Cin
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Hamilton, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.1 °C
- July average
- 21.9 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.7 days a year
People
- Population
- 569,353 people
- Official languages
- English only 92.3% · French only 0.1% · English and French 5.8% · neither 1.9%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.4% · public transit 7.4% · walking or cycling 5.2% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $86,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Hamilton, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.066
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.5%
- Basic cost of living
- $59,504 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage