Hamilton - Radiation Oncology
McMaster UniversityHamilton, OntarioCMG stream
- 2 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Radiation Oncology
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 36465
Summary
- McMaster's five-year Radiation Oncology program trains residents mainly at the Juravinski Cancer Centre in Hamilton.
- Core training includes paediatrics and sarcoma, a one-block prostate brachytherapy experience at Toronto's Odette Cancer Centre, and one community cancer centre block.
- Residents must complete a scholarly project and take home call approximately 1 in 5.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
5 teaching sites
- Juravinski Cancer Centre (JCC)
- Hamilton Health Science (HHS)
- St. Joseph’s Healthcare
Show all 5Show fewer
- McMaster Children’s Hospital
- Odette Cancer Centre
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Call
- Home call · frequency “approximately 1 in 5”
- Highlights
- Every resident takes on the Chief Resident role in PGY3.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Radiation Oncology (TRANSITION TO DISCIPLINE (TTD) · 8 weeks · Juravinski Cancer Centre)
- Internal Medicine (CTU) (FOUNDATIONS · 2 blocks)
- Thoracic Oncology Surgery (FOUNDATIONS · 1 block)
- Gynecologic Oncology (FOUNDATIONS · 1 block)
- Inpatient Oncology (FOUNDATIONS · 2 blocks)
- Emergency Medicine (FOUNDATIONS · 1 block)
- Diagnostic Imaging (FOUNDATIONS · 1 block)
- Palliative Care (Inpatient/outpatient) (FOUNDATIONS · 2 blocks)
- Neuro-Oncology (FOUNDATIONS · 1 block)
- radiation treatment planning (CORE)
- Medical Oncology (CORE)
- prostate brachytherapy experience (CORE · one-block · Odette Cancer Centre in Toronto)
- radiation oncology at a community cancer centre (CORE · one block)
- hybrid clinical/research block (CORE)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 27 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Juravinski Cancer Centre (JCC) (Hamilton)
- Hamilton Health Science (HHS) (Hamilton)
- St. Joseph’s Healthcare (Hamilton)
- McMaster Children’s Hospital (Hamilton)
- Odette Cancer Centre (Toronto)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Justin Lee
Program Director
Other contacts
Dr. Anna Katsev
Chief Resident
Dr. Jennifer Hanuschak
Chief Resident
Dr. Roland Chou
Chief Resident
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Hamilton, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.1 °C
- July average
- 21.9 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.7 days a year
People
- Population
- 569,353 people
- Official languages
- English only 92.3% · French only 0.1% · English and French 5.8% · neither 1.9%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.4% · public transit 7.4% · walking or cycling 5.2% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $86,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Hamilton, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.066
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.5%
- Basic cost of living
- $59,504 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage