Hamilton - Urology
McMaster UniversityHamilton, OntarioCMG stream
- 3 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Urology
- 0–50
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 35976
Summary
- McMaster Urology is a 5-year residency based at three Hamilton Health Sciences sites and St. Joseph's Healthcare.
- PGY1-2 residents join a core surgical program preparing for the Principles of Surgery Examination, and PGY3 focuses on endoscopic skills.
- Residents are encouraged to complete two research projects, with time set aside and funding up to $1000 per year.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
5 teaching sites
- Juravinski Hospital
- Hamilton General
- McMaster University Medical Centre
Show all 5Show fewer
- St. Joseph's Healthcare
- Juravinski Cancer Centre
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Offered · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- Division linked to McMaster's Centre for Minimal Access, with an active interest in minimally invasive surgery.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 30 and 31 Jan 2027
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Juravinski Hospital (Hamilton)
- Hamilton General (Hamilton)
- McMaster University Medical Centre (Hamilton)
- St. Joseph's Healthcare (Hamilton)
- Juravinski Cancer Centre (Hamilton)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Shahid Lambe
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Hamilton, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.1 °C
- July average
- 21.9 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.7 days a year
People
- Population
- 569,353 people
- Official languages
- English only 92.3% · French only 0.1% · English and French 5.8% · neither 1.9%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.4% · public transit 7.4% · walking or cycling 5.2% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $86,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Hamilton, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.066
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.5%
- Basic cost of living
- $59,504 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage