Hamilton - Vascular Surgery
McMaster UniversityHamilton, OntarioCMG streamNew for 2027
- 1 position
- 5 years
- CMG
- Vascular Surgery
- 0–50
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 36287
Summary
- This is a 5-year vascular surgery residency at McMaster University, with training at Hamilton Health Sciences and St. Joseph's Hospital.
- The first two years are foundational surgical training, followed by vascular-focused years including 4 blocks of Community Vascular Surgery in PGY3.
- Residents must complete two research projects, and chief residency begins at PGY4 1/2.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
3 teaching sites
- Hamilton General Hospital
- St. Joseph's Hospital
- Juravinski Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- Hamilton General is a Canadian referral centre for thoracoabdominal and complex thoracic aortic reconstructions.
- Chief residency starts at PGY4.5, leaving the final six months for focused training and exam study.
By year
- PGY-3
- Vascular Surgery8 blocks
- Community Vascular Surgery4 blocks
- Vascular Radiology/Non Invasive Vascular lab2 blocks
- selective/research1 block
- PGY-4
- Vascular Surgery11 blocks
- Interventional Radiology2 blocks
- PGY-5
- Vascular Surgery
- electives
Other rotations
- Vascular surgery (PGY 1 and 2 · 8 blocks)
- Internal Medicine subspecialties Nephrology and Cardiology (PGY 1 and 2 · 2 blocks)
- General Surgery (ACS & HPB) (PGY 1 and 2 · 2 blocks)
- Plastic Surgery (PGY 1 and 2 · 2 blocks)
- Emergency Medicine (PGY 1 and 2 · 2 blocks)
- Vascular Medicine (PGY 1 and 2 · 1 block)
- Cardiac Surgery (PGY 1 and 2 · 2 blocks)
- Intensive Care (PGY 1 and 2 · 3 blocks)
- Coronary Care Unit (PGY 1 and 2 · 1 block)
- elective (PGY 1 and 2 · 3 blocks)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Hamilton General Hospital (Hamilton)
- St. Joseph's Hospital (Hamilton)
- Juravinski Hospital (Hamilton)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program Assistant
Program director
Program Director
Dr. John Harlock
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Hamilton, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.1 °C
- July average
- 21.9 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.7 days a year
People
- Population
- 569,353 people
- Official languages
- English only 92.3% · French only 0.1% · English and French 5.8% · neither 1.9%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.4% · public transit 7.4% · walking or cycling 5.2% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $86,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Hamilton, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.066
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.5%
- Basic cost of living
- $59,504 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage