Indigenous - Internal Medicine
University of British ColumbiaIndigenous, British ColumbiaCMG stream
- 2 positions
- 4 years
- CMG
- Internal Medicine
- 0–50
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 35243
Summary
- This is a 4-year UBC Internal Medicine stream that prioritizes Indigenous applicants and adds Indigenous health opportunities to the standard curriculum.
- Training is based at four Lower Mainland hospitals, with 12–24 weeks at distributed sites in the province.
- A one-month community rotation in PGY-2 is mandatory.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Urban community
- Sites
8 teaching sites
- Vancouver General Hospital
- St. Paul's Hospital
- Royal Columbian Hospital
Show all 8Show fewer
- Surrey Memorial Hospital
- Royal Jubilee Hospital
- University Hospital of Northern British Columbia
- Lionsgate Hospital
- Kelowna General Hospital
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Optional rural rotation
- Focus areas
- Indigenous health
- POCUS curriculum
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Highlights
- Interview panel includes an Elder, Indigenous and non-Indigenous faculty, and an Indigenous resident.
- Support and funding for the UBC Graduate Certificate in Indigenous Public Health.
- Residents join UBC Family Practice Indigenous stream academic days on Indigenous health.
By year
- PGY-1
- Clinical Teaching Unit20 weeks
- Subspecialty Elective20 weeks
- Boot Camp4 Weeks
- ICU4 weeks
- CCU4 weeks
- PGY-2
- Subspecialty Electives24 weeks
- Clinical Teaching Unit16 weeks
- CCU8 weeks
- Community4 weeks
- PGY-3
- Subspecialty Electives24 weeks
- Clinical Teaching Unit12 weeks
- ICU8 weeks
- Ambulatory Medicine8 weeks
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $71,390 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,571 / year |
| PGY-3 | $86,655 / year |
| PGY-4 | $93,230 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes. Mandatory
- Dental plan
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Frequency of calls
- 1 in 4 onsite/1 in 3 offsite
- Life insurance
- 100% Premium Paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- Yes 100% Premiums Paid
- Maternity leave
- 17 weeks, plus up to 78 weeks Parental Leave
- Meal allowance
- No
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.5%
- Provincial health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory holidays
- 2 x pay plus extra day with pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Vancouver General Hospital (Vancouver)
- St. Paul's Hospital (Vancouver)
- Royal Columbian Hospital (New Westminster)
- Surrey Memorial Hospital (Surrey)
- Royal Jubilee Hospital (Victoria · rural or distributed site)
- University Hospital of Northern British Columbia (Prince George · rural or distributed site)
- Lionsgate Hospital
- Kelowna General Hospital (Kelowna · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Vancouver General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 13,790
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,855
St. Paul's Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,691
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,240
Royal Columbian Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,798
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,447
Show facts for 5 more sitesShow fewer
Surrey Memorial Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 11,911
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,849
Royal Jubilee Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 14,532
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,973
University Hospital of Northern British Columbia
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,520
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,127
Lionsgate Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 10,660
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,762
Kelowna General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 15,707
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 4,090
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
“For questions not covered on CaRMS site, email:” · the program’s note on CaRMS
Program directors
Dr. Tristen Gilchrist
Trudy Nasmith
Assistant Program Director, Indigenous Health
CaRMS lists no email for the directors.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Discussed on Reddit
Public Reddit posts and comments where someone describes this program. Each one links to Reddit.
- New CTU Program (opens Reddit in a new tab)
UBC CTU teaching engagement and service load by hospital site
- UBC vancouver island internal medicine? (opens Reddit in a new tab)
Rotator describes Vancouver Island IM culture, case mix and teaching
- Canadian IM Programs – Pros and Cons Thread (opens Reddit in a new tab)
Partner of IM resident compares McGill and UBC IM sites, call, French
- Canadian IM Programs – Pros and Cons Thread (opens Reddit in a new tab)
Friends' accounts of UBC IM elective flexibility, service load and call
Location
Indigenous, British Columbia