Skip to content
CdnMD

Integrated Communities - Family Medicine

University of TorontoIntegrated Communities, OntarioCMG stream

CaRMS program description, 2027 match, last approved 11 Sep 2026 · See the 2026 version

2027 match programs, from CaRMS as of 5 Oct 2026. Programs can still change until file review opens 26 November; we re-check every two weeks. Always confirm on CaRMS (opens in a new tab).

Positions (approx. quota)
6 positions
Length
2 years
Stream
CMG
Discipline
Family Medicine
Applications per year
401–600
Applicants offered interviews
76–100%
Accreditation
Accredited
CaRMS program ID
36183

Bands are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS. They describe past cycles, not your odds.

Summary

  • This two-year University of Toronto Family Medicine stream places residents for PGY1 at a Toronto community teaching hospital and for PGY2 in Alliston, Orangeville or Port Perry.
  • PGY2 is a horizontal program with 4 or 5 half days of Family Medicine per week.
  • Residents must complete an academic project, and access to a car is required.

Training

Setting
  • Mixed settings
  • Urban community
  • Regional community
Sites

5 teaching sites

  • North York General Hospital (NYGH)
  • Toronto East Health Network – Michael Garron Hospital (TEHN)
  • Alliston
Show all 5
  • Orangeville
  • Port Perry

Distributed across a region

Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • Longitudinal / integrated
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project
Enhanced skills
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Anesthesia
  • Maternity and Newborn Care
  • Women's Health
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Sport and Exercise Medicine
  • Other
Getting around
  • A car is required
Highlights
  • Split model: PGY1 at a Toronto community hospital, then PGY2 based in a mid-Ontario community.

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Foundations of Family Medicine (one-month)

Selection

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Applications per year
401–600
Applicants offered interviews
76–100%

Interviews

Dates (2027 match)
18, 19, 21 and 25 Jan 2027
Mode
Virtual
Format
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Programs can change interview dates. Confirm on carms.ca.

Pay

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Contract expired, may change.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year

One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house

The union agreement’s cap for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. Check with the program.

PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed.

Teaching sites

  • North York General Hospital (NYGH) (Toronto)
  • Toronto East Health Network – Michael Garron Hospital (TEHN) (Toronto)
  • Alliston (Alliston · rural or distributed site)
  • Orangeville (Orangeville · rural or distributed site)
  • Port Perry (Port Perry · rural or distributed site)

Hospital facts

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

Unfilled positions in past years

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late. It says nothing about the quality of the training. Verify with the CaRMS lists. Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)). A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.

Contacts

Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.

Program officeadministrators and coordinators

dfcm.admissions@utoronto.ca

Admissions and Recruitment Officer · Recruitment and Admissions Coordinator

Program directors

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Discussed on Reddit

Public Reddit posts and comments where someone describes this program. Each one links to Reddit.

These are public Reddit posts, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

Location

Integrated Communities, Ontario

Also trains in: Alliston, Orangeville, Port Perry

Loading amenities…

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 6 Oct 2026.