Kingston - Family Medicine - Palliative Care
Queen’s UniversityKingston, OntarioCompetitive stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
Also at Queen’s, outside the CaRMS match: Category 1 programs (Family Practice Anesthesia, Care of the Elderly, Emergency Medicine, Palliative Care): practising-physician / re-entry route, for practising or certified family physicians. Applications: No dates published (as of 10 Oct 2026). See it ›: Category 1 programs (Family Practice Anesthesia, Care of the Elderly, Emergency Medicine, Palliative Care): practising-physician / re-entry route, on the list of programs applied for at the school
- 2 positions
- 1 year
- Competitive
- Family Medicine - Palliative Care
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 34560
Summary
- This 1-year enhanced skills program in palliative care leads to a CFPC Certificate of Added Competency.
- Most training occurs at Kingston General Hospital, with further training at Providence Care Hospital's palliative care unit and hospice.
- The 13 blocks include inpatient, PCU/hospice, community, oncology and three elective blocks, plus a biweekly resident-led clinic at the cancer centre.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
5 teaching sites
- Kingston General Hospital (KGH)
- Providence Care Hospital (PCH)
- Providence Hospice
Show all 5Show fewer
- Hotel Dieu Hospital (HDH)
- Cancer Centre of Southeastern Ontario (CCSEO)
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Longitudinal / integrated
- Small program
- Research
- Offered · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Highlights
- Year-long resident-led clinic one full day twice a month at the Cancer Centre of Southeastern Ontario.
- Residents can act as Junior Attending to ease transition to independent practice.
- Residents attend, then teach at, the biannual 4-day CME course for family physicians in palliative care.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- inpatient care (4 blocks · KGH)
- PCU/Hospice (3 blocks)
- Community (2 blocks)
- elective (3 blocks)
- combined block in medical and radiation oncology (1 block (2 weeks each))
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Required · IMGs only
- IMG requirements
- “MCCQE Part I required for IMG applicants”
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- 9 and 10 Nov 2026
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Kingston General Hospital (KGH) (Kingston)
- Providence Care Hospital (PCH) (Kingston)
- Providence Hospice (Kingston)
- Hotel Dieu Hospital (HDH) (Kingston)
- Cancer Centre of Southeastern Ontario (CCSEO) (Kingston)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Majid Iqbal
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
Links the program published on CaRMS
Location
Kingston, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −7.0 °C
- July average
- 20.8 °C
- Snowfall
- 158.0 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 13.2 days a year
People
- Population
- 132,485 people
- Official languages
- English only 85.8% · French only 0.2% · English and French 13.4% · neither 0.6%
- Immigrants
- 13.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 4.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 81.5% · public transit 6.2% · walking or cycling 10.0% · other 2.3%
- Median household income
- $79,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Kingston, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.216
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.4%
- Basic cost of living
- $54,744 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.6%